Ancho-Chipotle Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
used 5 fresh roma (plum) tomatoes. used about 1/2 tsp crushed red pepper instead of the ancho (what I had on hand). I did not seed the chiptole chile and added about 1/2 T of the adobe sauce from the can of peppers. I also put in about 1/2 T chili powder. I used a food processor. I'm sure this would have been 5 stars without the changes, but it definitely was 5 stars with the changes. Update: I made 4 different salsas and had the husband try each. This was the winner (with the above changes) and the one I will be canning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
This was my first time ever trying to make salsa. I followed this recipe, and was very pleased; so was everyone else who tried it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody Blau

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: May 22, 2010
VERY GOOD! The directions were not clear on wether to drain the excess liquid from the tomatoes, so I just put it aside in case I needed it...I did not use it. I did not seed the jalapeno or the chipotle and it gave the salsa an awesome spicy kick. Also, I omitted the cilantro due to personal preference. I'm a huge fan of chipotle, and this had a wonderful smokey flavor that we loved. In case anyone is wondering, this is not a thick, chunky salsa, but more of a medium consistancy. I think this would also be great as a 'taco sauce' type condiment. We REALLY enjoyed this and I will be making it again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Yum! SO good and easy! I am serving this for company tonight and will definitely be making it again! The only thing I did differently was I used diced tomatoes with green chiles instead of the whole tomatoes and I didn't seed the chipotle chile, but the spiciness is just right for our tastes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
Salsa was awesome, great smoky flavor from the ancho chipotles. I used an extra jalapeno to add extra spice and used lime juice instead of lemon juice. I also like to use red onion and dice it up finely by hand as opposed to putting it into the food processor, I find the food processor pulverizes the onion and releases to much of th juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
I make a similar version all the time (Mexican husband!). I omit the onion & cumin and add Adobo seasoning. We use 2 small cans tomato sauce & 1 can petite diced tomatoes. Lime juice and a LOT of cilantro suit our tastes. GREAT in winter when fresh tomatoes are not the best. If you like the strong vinegar/acid flavor of supermarket jarred salsa, fresh salsa probably is not for you. Tweak the recipe to suit your tastes-so fun to change it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Apron

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
What a wonderful salsa! I've been wondering how to make salsa like this and if I knew how easy it was I'd have made it much earlier. I didn't have Ancho (I know, I know, it's the first word in the recipe) but I upped the chipotle and garlic. It was delicious. Not as spicy as I had anticipated I might even add more chipotle or the jalepeno with seeds next time. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stettler, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
I made this just as is for me, my girlfriend and a bottle of wine! Restaurant quality and so easy to have on hand. Perfect as is, I made not changes. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
The recipe does not call for dicing the peppers and onion before combining with the tomatoes in the blender....Is it recommended that you put them in whole, or am I missing something?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
I'm re-writing my review because I made this salsa again and I absolutely loved it this time. The first time is wasn't quite spicy enough so this time I used a good 2" piece of the ancho pepper and 2 chipotle peppers, unseeded. It was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinco de Mayo Salsa Cruda

See Chef Juan’s secret recipe for Cinco de Mayo-worthy homemade salsa cruda.

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Fire-Roasted Cherry Tomato Salsa

See what fire-roasting the tomatoes does for this simple salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States