Ancho-Chipotle Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
This is a fantastic salsa! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
This was wonderful! The smokey flavor and great texture reminded me of the fresh salsa you get at a restaurant. Mild to medium heat but a lot of flavor. I wouldn't change a thing and plan on making this one often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
I'd rate it 5 stars except there was way too much cilantro for my tastes. Made it to-the-letter the first time and the flavor was overpowering. The second time, I cut back on cilantro to about 1/2 tsp. and also doubled the chipotle peppers for a smokier taste. With those two changes it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Yum! SO good and easy! I am serving this for company tonight and will definitely be making it again! The only thing I did differently was I used diced tomatoes with green chiles instead of the whole tomatoes and I didn't seed the chipotle chile, but the spiciness is just right for our tastes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
Salsa was awesome, great smoky flavor from the ancho chipotles. I used an extra jalapeno to add extra spice and used lime juice instead of lemon juice. I also like to use red onion and dice it up finely by hand as opposed to putting it into the food processor, I find the food processor pulverizes the onion and releases to much of th juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
I make a similar version all the time (Mexican husband!). I omit the onion & cumin and add Adobo seasoning. We use 2 small cans tomato sauce & 1 can petite diced tomatoes. Lime juice and a LOT of cilantro suit our tastes. GREAT in winter when fresh tomatoes are not the best. If you like the strong vinegar/acid flavor of supermarket jarred salsa, fresh salsa probably is not for you. Tweak the recipe to suit your tastes-so fun to change it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Apron

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
Good bit of heat and smokiness. The consistency was good, but a bit too watery. The flavor was right and I always love cilantro. Watch out though, this stuff sticks with you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
What a wonderful salsa! I've been wondering how to make salsa like this and if I knew how easy it was I'd have made it much earlier. I didn't have Ancho (I know, I know, it's the first word in the recipe) but I upped the chipotle and garlic. It was delicious. Not as spicy as I had anticipated I might even add more chipotle or the jalepeno with seeds next time. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stettler, Alberta, Canada
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: May 22, 2010
VERY GOOD! The directions were not clear on wether to drain the excess liquid from the tomatoes, so I just put it aside in case I needed it...I did not use it. I did not seed the jalapeno or the chipotle and it gave the salsa an awesome spicy kick. Also, I omitted the cilantro due to personal preference. I'm a huge fan of chipotle, and this had a wonderful smokey flavor that we loved. In case anyone is wondering, this is not a thick, chunky salsa, but more of a medium consistancy. I think this would also be great as a 'taco sauce' type condiment. We REALLY enjoyed this and I will be making it again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
I made this just as is for me, my girlfriend and a bottle of wine! Restaurant quality and so easy to have on hand. Perfect as is, I made not changes. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Cinco de Mayo Salsa Cruda

See Chef Juan’s secret recipe for Cinco de Mayo-worthy homemade salsa cruda.

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States