Ancho Chile Rubbed Venison Steaks with Lime-Cilantro Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
We got a keeper! i made this in the slow cooker using round steak. seasoned like directed but instead of ancho chili i used chili pepper (its what i had at home) adding 2 maggie, one sazon packet, cayyen pepper, n 1 hot pepper. and garlic, loved it. made it for my dad n his gf they liked to...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Made this with some mule deer backstrap. I cleaned as much membrane/silver skin off as I could, then soaked the venison in milk for a couple of hours before cooking. The rub alone was great. I had to powderize some ancho pods as I couldn't locate powdered Ancho at any stores. I added a little garlic powder to the butter. The butter is what put this over the top. Everyone who had it commented that it was some of the best steak (from any animal) they have ever eaten. I agree!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
Used it on some beef filet's...not too impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
Loved the simplicity and flavor of this recipe. The "steak seasoning" that I used contained WAY too much salt for my taste, so next time I will be more careful to choose a seasoning with less salt. Grilled on the Big Green Egg to medium rare perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
The whole family really enjoyed these steaks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Delicious!! I used spicy Montreal Steak Seasoning and with the Ancho chili it worked out excellent. The recipe makes a tonnnn of butter, that is very strong lime/cilantro flavored. Tastes great but could def cut down the serving a bit, I still have a lot left. Thank you very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
Hands down, this made the best venison dish I have ever had. The lime-cilantro butter was amazing and the chili rub gave it just the right amount of heat. I added a little fresh chopped garlic to the butter just because I love garlic. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
Absolutely melt in your mouth delicious! I added a little garlic powder to the cilantro butter and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
very good as stated in recipe. it makes alot of butter so you will have it ready for the next few times you make the staeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
Made this tonight with venison round steaks. Yummy, but spicy! Honestly, this recipe is one of the best I've tried for that particular cut of meat. It covered the gamey taste, for sure. I couldn't find ancho chile powder at the store, so used chipotle powder instead, in the same proportions. I do believe that was too much heat. I will definitely make this again, using much less chile powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Chef John’s Grilled Lamb Steaks

Grilled marinated lamb dressed with a minted honey and sherry vinaigrette.

How to Grill Steaks

See the simple trick to grilling tender, juicy steaks every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States