Ancho Chile Rubbed Venison Steaks with Lime-Cilantro Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
Absolutely melt in your mouth delicious! I added a little garlic powder to the cilantro butter and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
Made this tonight with venison round steaks. Yummy, but spicy! Honestly, this recipe is one of the best I've tried for that particular cut of meat. It covered the gamey taste, for sure. I couldn't find ancho chile powder at the store, so used chipotle powder instead, in the same proportions. I do believe that was too much heat. I will definitely make this again, using much less chile powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
Hands down, this made the best venison dish I have ever had. The lime-cilantro butter was amazing and the chili rub gave it just the right amount of heat. I added a little fresh chopped garlic to the butter just because I love garlic. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
I used beef steaks, but I am always searching for new ways to make it as it is a highly requested meal in my home. I loved the ancho chili powder idea. It is one of my favorite spices. All the flavors combined well for a delicious steak!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrncssLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
Loved the simplicity and flavor of this recipe. The "steak seasoning" that I used contained WAY too much salt for my taste, so next time I will be more careful to choose a seasoning with less salt. Grilled on the Big Green Egg to medium rare perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Delicious!! I used spicy Montreal Steak Seasoning and with the Ancho chili it worked out excellent. The recipe makes a tonnnn of butter, that is very strong lime/cilantro flavored. Tastes great but could def cut down the serving a bit, I still have a lot left. Thank you very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
very good as stated in recipe. it makes alot of butter so you will have it ready for the next few times you make the staeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
real good. not alot of fuss, easy to prepare. the ancho, and the butter mix put this baby over the top. works with beef steak as well as deer. be sure to use ancho chile powder, you cant use to much of this stuff. if you like cilantro use extra, its some tough stuff. a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
The whole family really enjoyed these steaks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
Used it on some beef filet's...not too impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Chef John’s Grilled Lamb Steaks

Grilled marinated lamb dressed with a minted honey and sherry vinaigrette.

How to Grill Steaks

See the simple trick to grilling tender, juicy steaks every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States