Ancho Chile Fettuccini with Cilantro-Tomatillo Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
The sauce is extremely refreshing...This is a strange dish that we couldn't stop eating. The pasta flavor was excellent...I should have rolled it out on 5 instead of 3, but otherwise very good flavors...my mother in law ate it and she only likes traditional fare......good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dudesdad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Andrews, Texas, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
I prepared this recipe pretty much as stated, except that I used canned tomatillos and I put an extra ancho chile into the sauce part of the recipe. The fettuccine comes out a very unusual colour, but it's quite tasty. The sauce is the real gem here, though - what a fantastic, intense flavour! Don't be afraid to put a whole bunch of cilantro in - I thought it would be too much, but it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sbrd

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
I'm just reviewing the sauce - I'm way too lazy to make my own pasta. It was good but not mind-blowing. I added quite a lot more chicken stock as it was incredibly thick, and I knew the noodles would really soak it up, and get clumpy otherwise. I made this to go with shrimp (marinaded overnight in olive oil, lime juice and garlic) and angel hair pasta. Not a horrible meal, but not one of my best. Thanks anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
Exceptional dish!!!!! My husband and I both loved it, will make it often.... Which, by the way...I made exactly as the recipe directs...perfect. Thank you soooo much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marvel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Florence, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2007
I'm sorry, we just did not enjoy this recipe at all. I burned the garlic roasting it by this method, which may have been my own error, but I did follow the guidelines! And then I was really turned off by the color and texture of the pasta dough. It looked like something other than food. I have made pasta from scratch before, and had it turn out scrumptious, but this pasta recipe was difficult for me to work with--it was very dry and thick, and didn't roll out well, and the end result was terribly heavy and chewy. And like Pumpkin said, some flavors just weren't meant to go together. Maybe it was a huge mental block for us? I usually like "oddball" recipes, but this one doesn't make the cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middlebury, Indiana, USA
Living In: Atmore, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
In my opinion: This sounds better than the end result. I didn't care for this enough past 2 stars. Italian (pasta) and Mexican cuisines do not combine and merge very well to tasteful results. The sauce by itself is wonderful over chicken like another reviewer said but I would not advise using the sauce over pasta. Perhaps over shrimp and orzo instead would taste better? I did not make the past in the recipe but used a store bought fresh version. I don’t think that makes any difference to the taste anyway. I thought it was bland and needed lots of salt and pepper. I feel as though this was a waste of tomatillos even though it is super easy. For a good tomatillo and cilantro recipe search for Tomatillo Soup by Holly on this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2005
The cilantro-tomatillo cream sauce is very fresh and unique. I make the sauce and serve it over chicken breast or tilapia. It is easy to make and my friends and family love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2002
Making the pasta can be very time consuming. I used the ancho chile water and chicken bullion for the liquid in the sauce. I also used the chile water when cooking the chicken. Next time I am going to buy some pasta and add the ancho chiles to the sauce. It had a very fresh taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States