Anadama Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
This is a great Anadama bread - made just as directed! A winner in our house. CookinMama should submit her version as a new recipe - I am sure it is good - and look forward to trying it soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
It took 2 days to rise, and even then, came out rather hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Higgins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
Of the three Anadama recipes I've used, this is my favorite. I added some wheat flour because I think Ananadama is better that way. I doubled the recipe, keeping a little dough out for a breakfast of "fried bread dough" which is a family favorite. (Just make a thin patty of dough and fry it slowly in butter. Serve with butter and jelly.) It fried nicely with a crispy edge and was excellent with apricot jelly. the rest made a tall and beautiful loaf. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Castle Rock, Washington, USA
Living In: Kelso, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
This is a wonderfully hearty bread that will bring back memories of days gone by! Rich flavor and easy to make in bread maker too! Thanks for sharing one of my favorite recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TTV78
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
SO very good! This bread has the most amazing flavor I have ever tasted. Given, I know nothing about Anadama bread and thought I would try this recipe just because the Hubster and I both love molasses. Well, it's going to go into our "make it again" list. It's got a gorgeous color, dense crumb with a great soft texture, & the crispiest delightful crust. I followed the recipe exactly, except for shaping into a round loaf baked on a pizza stone instead of using a loaf pan. It was beautiful & delicious! We had warm slices of it fresh out of the oven for dinner with our soup, then had it again toasted with cream cheese for breakfast. Love it! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTV78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Yankee Magazine featured a recipe for Anadama Bread in the current issue so I looked online for other recipes and found this one. I liked the look of this photo much better than theirs which had much more cornmeal in it and looked like cornmeal bread. I have now made at least 6 loaves of this in the last month and I have 2 in the oven right now (oh, the delicious aroma!). One woman at our church soup and bread supper said she would PAY me if I would make her more...she absolutely loved it and several others have asked for the recipe! I LOVE the chewy, rich flavor and texture of this bread and it is now my absolute favorite ~ with cream cheese, it's dessert!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
This bread is a 5 star. Reason being is it is just plain good. Now you have to like molasses to get the full appreciation out of it's full bold flavor. I think I might have left the cornmeal mixutre a bit too warm when I kneeded the yeast into it. It didn't rise as much as it should have but I am sure it was my fault or the fault of the yeast. Never the less I just toasted a piece and the tastebuds loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QueenKey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sparta, Michigan, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
the amount of water to cook the corn meal is too little in this recipe. I've had success using I full cup of water for 1/4 cup of corn meal. I think the bread is at its absolute best after it has cooled completely, then is toasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Breena Clarke
Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
Great bread recipe! My family loved this..I'm having leftovers toasted in the morning. I, also, think the quantities of ingredients were fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina Izzy Shores

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
Great bread! Delicious with a bit of butter alongside a bowl of soup. I used half whole wheat flour and it turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

How to Make the Sponge for Homemade Bread

Your sourdough starter is ready. Now it’s time to make the sponge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States