Anadama Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2000
This is a classic bread recipe that tastes great. I have made it 3 times and it comes out great every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2004
LOVE THIS BREAD!!!! I made it for the first time yesterday. It was AWESOME!!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
I'm a fan of the NYT no-knead bread method and applied it to this recipe. This means, I mixed the dough with a little extra water (about a cup total), used a teaspoon of instant yeast (which I don't bother to mix with water first--just add yeast to dry ingredients and water with wet ingredients) rather than the active dry yeast, then let it rise for 8 hours. I turned it out on a generously floured board, floured the top, let it rest for 10 min. or so. Then folded it over on itself several times and gathered it into a ball. I put it on parchment paper and let it rise another couple of hours covered by a cloth napkin. I then scored the top of the loaf with a razor and baked it in a dutch oven that had been heated in the oven--I lowered the loaf into the pot holding onto the edges of the parchment. I baked at 450 rather than 375, about 25 minutes with the lid on, 10 with the lid off. Also, I used a full 3 cups of flour--right from the beginning (a mixture of 2/3 bread flour, 1/3 whole wheat flour), then a little extra as indicated. The bread does not have the crusty crust of most artisan breads, and it actually wasn't my favorite bread (I'm partial to the plain old flour and water variety). But it was well received by some at dinner and the recipe and technique were highly successful. It was not nearly as dense as I expected. It rose very nicely and created a beautiful loaf. I would not even attempt this bread if you don't have very good molasses available to you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2002
Awesome!! I ate the whole thing myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSDORKY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Islip, New York, USA
Living In: Portola Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2003
MMmmmm... very hearty, nice & dense, and just sweet enough - especially with a tiny bit of butter. This is great with a soup or stew (we had boiled cabbage with potatoes and sausage) - a perfect combo! It's also nice & quick, as homemade bread goes. We really enjoy it hot from the oven, but I seriously doubt we'll have any left over to try it toasted... We'll be making this often in our house. Thanks for the recipe! (By the way, how the heck is this pronounced?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAKP71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeside, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2008
Very good, tastes even better toasted the next day. Don't be alarmed if some spots still look a bit moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2003
This bread was excellent! As with most breads I make, I adapted the recipe to use sourdough and the result was out of this world. The molasses makes the bread sweet without being cloying, and the cormeal gives it a delightful texture. I doubled the recipe to make two loaves and every last crumb of bread has been eaten -- the family loved it! I'm making this again next week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pillowtrot

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2005
This is my daughters favorite bread. She askes me to make it for every one of her birthday dinners. I end up using more water while cooking the corn meal mush. I also use a little less than 1/2 C. molasses. The recipe makes one huge loaf that stays nice and soft. Delicious toast, great for sandwiches if it lasts that long. It's simple to make and we love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
A new family favorite. Excellent toasted and with coffee. THANK YOU!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
This was a good, good bread recipe, and very satisfying. The texture is moist and chewy with a relatively fine crumb. It is not too sweet. The top of the loaf darkens nicely but the crust is not too hard. Other reviewers have mentioned the proportions in the recipe being off, but I did not personally find that to be the case. Different flours offer different absorbency, and of course anything with flour is affected by humidity. If you just trust your instincts rather than blaming the recipe, you'll have good results. I did add about 1/2 c. extra flour while kneading as it did feel a bit too sticky. However, it came together nicely after only about 5 minutes of hand kneading rather than the 8 suggested in teh recipe. Also, the cook time in my oven was slightly shorter than the 30 minutes listed. My suggestion is to set the timer for 25 minutes, then give it a tap and put it in for the remaining five if it seems underdone. This bread recipe is now one that will go in my rotation of breads, and will become a gift-giving bread as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buxton, Maine, USA
Living In: Porter, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

How to Make the Sponge for Homemade Bread

Your sourdough starter is ready. Now it’s time to make the sponge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States