Anadama Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2003
MMmmmm... very hearty, nice & dense, and just sweet enough - especially with a tiny bit of butter. This is great with a soup or stew (we had boiled cabbage with potatoes and sausage) - a perfect combo! It's also nice & quick, as homemade bread goes. We really enjoy it hot from the oven, but I seriously doubt we'll have any left over to try it toasted... We'll be making this often in our house. Thanks for the recipe! (By the way, how the heck is this pronounced?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAKP71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeside, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2000
This is a classic bread recipe that tastes great. I have made it 3 times and it comes out great every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
As is the proportions seem wrong. I made this with 3 cups flour (1 cup whole wheat flour, 2 cups bread flour) 1/3 cup fine ground cornmeal, 1 pkg quick rise yeast, 1 cup hot water, 1/4 cup blackstrap molasses (we love hardy molasses), 3 TB butter, 1 tsp salt and 1 egg. Use warm water (120-130 degrees F)since we used quick rise yeast (aka rapid rise). Baked at 350 for 30 minutes. We are in Anadama heaven! I also did not soak the cornmeal since I used finely ground cornmeal--but even so the crunch is pleasant. I also did not knead this dough--dough will be sticky, just place in 2qt well greased round casserole dish and cover with plastic wrap sprayed with cooking spray and let rise for about 1hr. Using the above measurements and changes this is a 5 star Anadama Bread recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2003
I like this anadama bread a little less than the other anadama recipe (Eleanor Johnson's, which I make without the blueberries), but that's probably just personal preference. This one is more dense, not as feathery light. It gets a hard crust, which is good. You can taste the molasses more in this one than you can in Eleanor's as well, which isn't necessarily a selling point for me but might be for some folks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACKALLEN
Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
Excellent bread-- been making it for ten years... Did you know that this dough also makes the best "doughboys" (fried dough) EVER ??!! Just form it into a piece about 1/4-inch thick-- shape how you wish. I just make them oblong. Deep fry in 350 deg oil --just until golden-brown, turn over for a minute or 2 more on the other side. Place on a cooling-rack over a cookie-sheet... sprinkle with confectioners sugar or cinnamon-sugar. Serve warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2003
This bread was excellent! As with most breads I make, I adapted the recipe to use sourdough and the result was out of this world. The molasses makes the bread sweet without being cloying, and the cormeal gives it a delightful texture. I doubled the recipe to make two loaves and every last crumb of bread has been eaten -- the family loved it! I'm making this again next week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pillowtrot

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2002
Awesome!! I ate the whole thing myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSDORKY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Islip, New York, USA
Living In: Portola Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2005
Very inaccurate measurement of liquids to dry ingredients. I've been baking bread for years and most bread recipes call for approx. 1 1/2 cups liquid to 4 cups flour, but this calls for 1 1/4 cups water PLUS 1/2 cup molasses to 3 cups flour and 1/4 cup cornmeal. Needed to add about 1 cup extra flour and it turned out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TTV78
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
SO very good! This bread has the most amazing flavor I have ever tasted. Given, I know nothing about Anadama bread and thought I would try this recipe just because the Hubster and I both love molasses. Well, it's going to go into our "make it again" list. It's got a gorgeous color, dense crumb with a great soft texture, & the crispiest delightful crust. I followed the recipe exactly, except for shaping into a round loaf baked on a pizza stone instead of using a loaf pan. It was beautiful & delicious! We had warm slices of it fresh out of the oven for dinner with our soup, then had it again toasted with cream cheese for breakfast. Love it! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTV78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Yankee Magazine featured a recipe for Anadama Bread in the current issue so I looked online for other recipes and found this one. I liked the look of this photo much better than theirs which had much more cornmeal in it and looked like cornmeal bread. I have now made at least 6 loaves of this in the last month and I have 2 in the oven right now (oh, the delicious aroma!). One woman at our church soup and bread supper said she would PAY me if I would make her more...she absolutely loved it and several others have asked for the recipe! I LOVE the chewy, rich flavor and texture of this bread and it is now my absolute favorite ~ with cream cheese, it's dessert!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

How to Make the Sponge for Homemade Bread

Your sourdough starter is ready. Now it’s time to make the sponge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States