Anadama Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
This was a good, good bread recipe, and very satisfying. The texture is moist and chewy with a relatively fine crumb. It is not too sweet. The top of the loaf darkens nicely but the crust is not too hard. Other reviewers have mentioned the proportions in the recipe being off, but I did not personally find that to be the case. Different flours offer different absorbency, and of course anything with flour is affected by humidity. If you just trust your instincts rather than blaming the recipe, you'll have good results. I did add about 1/2 c. extra flour while kneading as it did feel a bit too sticky. However, it came together nicely after only about 5 minutes of hand kneading rather than the 8 suggested in teh recipe. Also, the cook time in my oven was slightly shorter than the 30 minutes listed. My suggestion is to set the timer for 25 minutes, then give it a tap and put it in for the remaining five if it seems underdone. This bread recipe is now one that will go in my rotation of breads, and will become a gift-giving bread as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buxton, Maine, USA
Living In: Porter, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
Very good, tastes even better toasted the next day. Don't be alarmed if some spots still look a bit moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
A new family favorite. Excellent toasted and with coffee. THANK YOU!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
The bread had a great taste. Unfortunately I couldn't get it to rise properly. I tried three times (with brand new yeast -active and then the quick rise) and the bread just never took off. Next time I might double the yeast. Even though it was a little doughy in the middle it still made great french toast and grilled cheese sandwiches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
I agree with a previous reviewer that the dry/wet proportions are completely off. I had to add about an extra 1.5 cups of flour. Unfortunately, I was already kneading while I had to do this which ended up in a sticky, doughy mess! It turned out ok afterward. I probably won't be making this again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
As is the proportions seem wrong. I made this with 3 cups flour (1 cup whole wheat flour, 2 cups bread flour) 1/3 cup fine ground cornmeal, 1 pkg quick rise yeast, 1 cup hot water, 1/4 cup blackstrap molasses (we love hardy molasses), 3 TB butter, 1 tsp salt and 1 egg. Use warm water (120-130 degrees F)since we used quick rise yeast (aka rapid rise). Baked at 350 for 30 minutes. We are in Anadama heaven! I also did not soak the cornmeal since I used finely ground cornmeal--but even so the crunch is pleasant. I also did not knead this dough--dough will be sticky, just place in 2qt well greased round casserole dish and cover with plastic wrap sprayed with cooking spray and let rise for about 1hr. Using the above measurements and changes this is a 5 star Anadama Bread recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
this was just too dark and a little dry for my tastes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thompson Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2005
This is my daughters favorite bread. She askes me to make it for every one of her birthday dinners. I end up using more water while cooking the corn meal mush. I also use a little less than 1/2 C. molasses. The recipe makes one huge loaf that stays nice and soft. Delicious toast, great for sandwiches if it lasts that long. It's simple to make and we love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2005
Very inaccurate measurement of liquids to dry ingredients. I've been baking bread for years and most bread recipes call for approx. 1 1/2 cups liquid to 4 cups flour, but this calls for 1 1/4 cups water PLUS 1/2 cup molasses to 3 cups flour and 1/4 cup cornmeal. Needed to add about 1 cup extra flour and it turned out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2004
LOVE THIS BREAD!!!! I made it for the first time yesterday. It was AWESOME!!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

How to Make the Sponge for Homemade Bread

Your sourdough starter is ready. Now it’s time to make the sponge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States