Amy's Spicy Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 1, 2008
Wonderful - my whole family loved it and we will definitely be having this again! Other than getting Jalapeno in my eye 20 min. after I made the dish, this was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Foodie Family
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
cut out the black olives,used chiles and served over white rice with jerk chicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie Family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
This recipe was great! I read the reviews before cooking, so I added about twice the chili powder and cumin, and we left off the cheese at the end because we were using the beans in burritos. Excellent accompaniment to a good spiced chicken recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
This was a very good recipe, the only reason I am only giving it 3 stars was because I made a few changes. I used day old rice from the night before and put that in the bottom of the dish, then added rinsed and drained black beans, along with diced tomatoes with the juice and I added a little less than a 1/4 cup of water for more liquid. I cooked that for about 20 minutes then added onions and cheese. I will make this again with the changes I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Landisville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Daniel
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
This is a very good recipe! I followed the instructions as indicated with the exception of the black olives since I didn't have any. I replaced them with green olives. For those like me who like their food hot and spicy, this hits the spot. However, for those who like their food a bit milder tasting, I would suggest to skip the chili pepper in the black bean mixture. Next time, instead of using brown rice, I'll be using par-broiled rice. For some reason, brown rice doesn't appeal to my palate. Besides that, this recipe is quite good and I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Casselman, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
I tried one can of black beans and one can of garbanzo. I enjoyed the recipe very much. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
We're not vegetarians, so I added sliced turkey smoked sausage. It was great over jasmine rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arroyo Grande, California, USA
Living In: Rancho Santa Margarita, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
Awesome easy recipe! So easy to adapt to one's own taste and ingredients on hand. I avoided the "drain beans or not" debate, because I make beans from scratch to avoid too much sodium. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
This is one of my favorite meatless meals to make. I fell in love with brown rice after trying this recipe-at first I was a little apprehensive about it. I didn't have any jalapeños but I just about added every hot spice that I own and it was delicious! I did not drain the black beans and it was still great I thought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
This recipe was easy to make and nice with cornbread. Add more spice for a better flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Splendora, Texas, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States