Amy's Spicy Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
Quick, easy, and cheap! I didn't add the cheese in order to make it healthier and it was just as tasty. Aslo, canned jalepenos work just fine when you don't have fresh ones on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KKH3
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
This tasted much better than expected! I made it just as written except that I used white rice instead of brown and doubled the cheese. I also mixed the rice in with the beans while baking it. This had a very unique flavor with the olives and the beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
I made this recipe exactly as it read, and for my husband and I (who actually happen to be bean lovers), this was WAY overpowered by the beans. The heat and spices were good, but there are definitely several things I will change next time I make this. First of all, I will drain the beans. Not draining them left this way too soupy. I ended up putting it all in a pan on top of the stove to try to cook some of the liquid out (instead of baking it as the recipe reads.) Next time I think I will also trade one of the cans of beans for a can of corn (drained). I will also heat it on the stovetop again(for faster results) and then mix my cooked rice into the bean/corn mixture to make it more of a dirty rice dish. Then I'll add the cheese to the top at the end. All in all, the idea of this recipe was good, it just needed a little tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
This was very good and so easy. I used quinoa instead of rice. I also subbed about 1/2 cup roasted green chiles for the jalapeno, and I used half red and half green chili powder. I'd add one or two more green onions next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BobK
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
Loved it. My wife, who likes "spicy, but not too spicy" said it was "very, very good." If I was just making it for myself, I'd kick it up a notch, but I tend to like very spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BobK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
I found it odd that the description had 3 kinds of beans but only black are mention in the recipe?? See following-- "Black, red, and pinto beans are baked with jalapeno peppers and spices, and then served atop hot brown rice."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FISHGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Encampment, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
Loved this recipe! Everything just went well together and very easy to make! Will definately make this again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Union, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Brandon, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
I really liked this recipe, I used canned chilies insead of fresh jalapenos and added more green onion and olives but it was great! Will make again!! Very filling even without meat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
Baking the beans smothered with cheese in the oven is genius!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
This was a tasty recipe. I made extra rice because we like to have a lot of rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States