Amy's Spicy Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
wonderful. everyone enjoyed these beans, even my pickey eater. i drained the beans, added extra chedder cheese, and used white onions that were baked along with the beans. it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
This was great!! I mixed a little chorizo with the rice and topped it off with eggs over easy. I also had it without the rice and it was still good! I will definately be making this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: May 7, 2010
This was pretty good. If you read through the reviews, the person who submitted this recipe has reviewed it saying she adds salsa to it before baking it. I didn't try it that way, but I will in the future, because salsa would give it that missing jazz that I felt it needed. I do think we prefer our black beans to be riceless (we used this as a side dish) so I'm not sure I would try this one again, but I'm glad I did. Thanks for the recipe! (BTW: A 2-quart casserole dish is smaller than an 8x8 glass baking dish, though an 8x8 will work too. I had to google it because I had no idea how many quarts my dishes hold!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
This is a great, simple, tasty meal that everyone will love!! The only change I made was substituting the regular cheese with low-fat cheese. It was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
I'm very disappointed with this dish. I would not call it Spicy, in fact we found it quite bland. I added extra onions and some garlic and it was still bland! Had great texture, and so much potential. I'll make this again, but with more tweeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuiceMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TTV78
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
We absolutely love this Beans & Rice recipe and I have made it numerous times. I like to add sauteed diced onion & minced garlic to the beans before baking, but other than that, I think the other spices are spot on and the jalapeno is a nice kick. We love spicy food and this is a hearty, satisfying dish. Sometimes, I'll make taco seasoned ground beef to add to the beans & rice bowl, top with shredded lettuce & sour cream, and it is total dinner delight. :) Thanks for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTV78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
I had to change this up just because I didn't have everything and took a few tips...drained and rinsed black beans, added a can of undrained garbanzos, added half small can of white corn, about 1/4 cup onion, 1/4 cup chopped green pepper and 2 cloves chopped fresh garlic. Drizzeld olive oil over and used a mix of grated jack cheese and crumbled Velveeta. It was so delicious!! I will also use leftovers in burritos. Thanks so much for sharing my husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
I love this recipe though I modify it quit a bit. First of all I use one can black beans and one can pinto. I drain the liquid from the pinto beans but use the black bean water in the recipe. Additionally I add a can of corn, one chopped red pepper and a chopped onion. Mixed together with the rice, cheese, green onion and olives this makes a great burrito filler!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda G.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
Very very bland. I even added sauteed onions and garlic. Giving it 2 stars cause it might be good in a tortilla for tomorrow's supper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
Quick, easy, and cheap! I didn't add the cheese in order to make it healthier and it was just as tasty. Aslo, canned jalepenos work just fine when you don't have fresh ones on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Spicy Spanish-Style Rice

See how to make spicy Spanish-style rice, a terrific all-purpose side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States