Amy's Sausage Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2014
I didn't have apple pie filling, so I substituted fresh apples with sugar and spices and added it to the sausage while it sauteed. Also, I didn't have regular sausage so I used turkey sausage. The filling seemed a bit dry so I made a cheese sauce and added that. It was delicious and my boyfriend's son ate half the pie with the request that I make this again. Next time I'll make sure I have the apple pie filing and try it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
I've made this before I saw this recipe. I use 3 fresh apples per lb of italian sausage with about a 1/4 C brown sugar, molassas, and spices like cinnamon, ginger, and nutmeg. I also add 1-2 eggs to help bind everything together and sometimes a little bit of apple sauce to help make it saucy. I stir the cheese (only about 1 cup) into the filling as well. I hope this helps to inspire others to make this delicious fall recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gillette, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
I've been making this for years and just love it. I do make sure to cook the sausage until it's well browned, and drain it well. I use SHARP cheddar, and add it for the last 15 minutes and it turns out wonderful. When I first read the recipe, it sounded so unusual. I knew I would like it, but wondered what others would think. So far, it's a hit with everyone who I've served it to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mistandfog
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I'm sure the quality of the finished product on this recipe is dependent on the quality of your crust, your pie filling, and the sausage you use. Having said that, use the best you have, and you will love this recipe. The pie is both savory and sweet. Everybody in my family loved it, and I will make it again and again. We made it with homemade breakfast sausage (recipe on this site), a homemade apple pie filling, and the French Pastry Pie Crust (also from this site). The only thing I will change next time is to blend the cheese into the pie and meat filling--the cheddar on my first effort tended to stick to the top crust, so if I didn't get a perfectly balanced forkful, I didn't get cheddar in every bite. Blending the cheese would handily take care of that problem. Also, the bake time needs to be adjusted to your crust recipe. I needed to go for a full 45 minutes (and switched from 350 to 375 midway through) to get my crust golden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
This is super yummy! Made it for some friends and they loved it. Even asked for seconds! Its an easy recipe and one that you would never expect to be so tasty. Warning: If you dont like a sort of sweet dinner, then maybe this is not for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by springxbaby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Gabriel, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by YAHOUDI
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Tried this out at a pot luck dinner last night, and it got great reviews! I liked it, too...wasn't sure at first how those ingredients would go together, but I do know that I like apple and pork dishes, so I thought I'd give it a whirl. Glad I did! This time I used pre-cooked sausage crumbles, next time I'll fry up my own ground sausage and maybe bake it a few minutes longer (30 minutes was not enough time for the heavy stoneware pie plate I used).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
I have been using a similar recipe for years. I got it out of a cookbook called "Best recipies off the backs of boxes" or something like that. The book was printed back in the mid 60's. It used split sausage links arranged in spoke form around the pie under the crust. Th only change i made was to slice the sausage into nickel sized pieces and layer the top under the crust. Sometimes I mix sharp grated chedder into the apple filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
Very different, but good! I used turkey kielbasa, with cherry pie filling as the store didn't have apple. I will try again with italian sausage and apple next time. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSMOON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Suffield, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
This tasted great - I was pretty sure it would. It sure isn't healthy, though - if I hadn't looked at the fat and calorie numbers, I would've eaten the whole thing in one go. As it was, I made it last me for three days. I wasn't sure if it was supposed to be an entree, a breakfast or brunch item, or what; I had it for dinner and two lunches. I made it pretty much exactly as written. I could only find a larger (20 oz.) can of apple pie filling, so I measured out 15.3 oz. on my digital scale. I used shredded mild cheddar, but perhaps sharp cheddar would've tasted even better. I baked it for 28 minutes and it looked done to me. I'd make this again, but only for a rare treat. I'll give it a high rating because it tasted so great, and because it's so easy to make and made with just four ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Very good, my husband and son loved it. The flavor was delicious. Just a little greasy. I made it witha top crust as recommended by another user, I don't I will do it next time because I think that the cheese needed to be browned. Be sure to drain the sausage as much as you can after cooking. I will make this again, the taste of the sharp cheddar, apple and sausage was perfect. Be sure to cover crust after 15 minutes and cook at least 35 minutes or longer so bottom crust cooks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States