Amy's Marvelous Marbled Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
I had to sub a few things because I didn't have everything on hand (cocoa powder; cake pan). Judging by previous reviews, this recipe is pretty flexible. If you're handy in the kitchen it should work for you and your experiments. Mine turned out well and the chocolate polka dots were fun to look at and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dagwood17

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Photo by foodaholic
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
Rather than marble the batter, I piped the chocolate (inject like a jelly donut) in as polka-dots. I had read about the technique and had to try it. COOL! Oh and I topped it with a lightly sweetened sour cream. To get clean slices, dip your long knife in hot water, do not dry it off. Do this between each slice you make. (great opportunity to taste it before serving it too)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcrae, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
Super easy to make. I will cut down on the chocolate next time because it made too much for the marbling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
For those who find that there is too much crust in this recipe, you can use 1 cup of graham cracker crumbs with about 4 tablespoons of butter instead of the original. I pressed that amount into a 9-inch tart pan and my cheesecake came out perfect. I used about 2 tablespoons less sugar in the cream cheese mixture and it was already sweet enough. It was quite difficult to get the "marbled" look because there was too much of the chocolate mixture. I would suggest mixing at most 1/2 cup instead of 1 cup of cream cheese mixture with 1 ounce of melted semi-sweet chocolate and swirling it into the rest of the cream cheese mixture. Overall, it was yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuVeLLe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2006
This cheesecake is very easy to make and tastes great! For the lady who couldn't get it to marble...I used a spoon to put in the chocolate...making dabs all over the top, then I used a butterknife to swirl it around. I have made this a few times and everyone loves it! A big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
I have made this recipe 2-3 times, and it is quite delicious. Very easy to make, and good cheesecake recipe for when you don't have sour cream on hand. I always used my mini-springform pans (fills 2, plus a small pudding dish extra), because I didn't think it'd fill a 9 inch pan. I have never been able to get the layers to swirl, they always just divide vanilla on bottom, then the layer of chocolate on top. Any tips on getting it to marble? I will keep making this recipe whenever I want to make cheesecake with chocolate, it's also good for a Valentine's Day treat in mini-springforms for dessert. I always just use chocolate chips as the chocolate part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lebanon, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jonestown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
sounds delicious and tastes even better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
Wonderful! I used a 9" pie plate. I dont think this would be enough for a spring pan.. I didnt taste this personally because my husband brought it to work, but called around noon and said it was gone (good sign!) I also used an crushed oreos to make the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2005
this is a really great recipe it was my first time making cheesecake and it turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2005
This recipe is great! I make A LOT of cheesecakes and I used this recipe as a "base" and incorporate all the types of flavors that I make and they turn out WONDERFUL every single time. The best part is that it NEVER cracks! THANKS Amy for a great, no-fail cheesecake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarthaWannabe

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shiner, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cheesecake Pops

Watch how to make perfectly sweet cheesecake pops.

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States