Amy's Cilantro Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I really, really wanted to like this based on 500+ reviews, but the recipe is written to loosely.... 1 bunch of fresh cilantro is overpowering. I had to experiment to find a balance that didn't end up tasting like straight cilantro. 1/2 a small bunch would be a good estimate. Otherwise, this was a good base to build on for personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
307 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2003
Cream cheese,cilantro and spices. How can you go wrong? I had no idea what a "bunch" of cilantro was precisely though; so I used about 1/2 cup (loosely packed)of fresh chopped; probably 20 pieces) Cilantro is a very strong, distinctive flavor and I probably could of used less. But, I love cilantro and I love med spicy salsas, so this is a dip that I will make again and again. I am just not sure if I like it best on "Southwestern Eggrolls" or for "Black Bean Pinwheels" best though... or maybe... on steak fajitas... or maybe on spicy-mesquite chicken tacos... Truly a fresh tasting, delicious dip for MANY different things! Just make sure you like the flavor of cilantro. Oh, FYI;this will be slightly "lumpy" if you do not have your cream cheese at room temperature. And, it will be AS spicy HOT AS THE BRAND YOU USE of tomatilla salsa (there are hundreds of different kinds;hot med, mild etc. just like any other salsa) Hope this helps you make it "5 star" for you... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
267 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
Excellent recipe! We added 1 Tbsp. chopped jalapenos for some extra spice. Great with everything-- as a dip, spread, filling, sauce, etc. BTW, "tomatillo salsa" is also known as "Salsa Verde"-- definitely use the whole 7 oz. can to get the creamy consistency and delicious "green" taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsMellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2002
I love this dip! I served it at our 4th of July party and everyone loved it. I made it again today and used only 1/4 tsp of cumin but added more sour cream and cream cheese and it was much better. Will be perfect on grilled chicken, fish and much more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2002
This sauce is great! I catered an office party and had so many requests for this recipe. Served with fresh vegetables & pita crisps as a dip. It will also be fantastic as a sauce for fresh fish & chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PersonalChefJoni

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Fallbrook, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2002
Oh my God, this is so good! I use it as a dip for lime tortilla chips and everyone loves it! The first time I made it, I couldn't find tomatillo salsa, so I used Pace Chipotle and it turned out great! Later, I did find the tomatillo salsa and it was just as great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2002
very good, but it makes too much, I think...my guests ate only about half...from the reviews i thought it would all be gone. will make again though, it's perfect with Southwest Eggrolls. I use salsa verde most of the time, because I've never been able to find tomatillo sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2002
Easy to make and very delicious! Versatile sauce - can be a bread dip or a taco or burger sauce! I substituted garlic salt instead of powder - big mistake - too salty. It might be good if you substituted basil & sun-dried tomatoes for the cilantro also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2002
This is great! It is even better if it sits for a day to let the flavors combine - but it usually doesn't last that long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2002
Wonderful! We are having a pool party as we speak and I just had to run in a drop a thank you line to Amykins! Thank you! I also used a food processor and did not have any trouble with it blending or not being creamy. Thank you again Amykins for giving us this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by phnz2lft

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 754) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Gorgonzola Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic, creamy sauce with tangy blue cheese.

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States