Amy's Barbecue Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
I loved it. So did hubby. Great with a glass of Sangria. I added a large chopped green onion and each person could plop a dolop of guac on the top if they liked. Served the dressing on the side for every one to drizzle over. Some people were leaving off the fried onions. I say try it once with them on as they really do lend ymminess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THELAZ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
Yum! . I had leftover BBQ chicken & I seen this recipe advertised & it was perfect to make! I forgot the black beans & I think it would be the topper to this yummy dish! The fresh cilantro adds a great flavor! I will make this again soon with the beans! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
Daaaang!!! This salad was so yummy, my fiance wants to have it for my wedding reception next month. I made it as written except used a prepackaged mixed lettuce. That dressing is PERFECT for this salad. Thank you so much Amy. It will make my special day a little more special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
The recipe doesn't give lettuce And cilantro measurements. I added waaaay too much cilantro but it was still GREAT! I did have a bit too much lettuce but my family gave it a 10! Next time I would add some avocado. I did add tortilla strips that they sell in the grocery store. Gave it that extra crunch. I will definitely make this again and I think it's the perfect salad to bring to a party!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
This recipe was totally delicious! I am going to use this a lot during the warm summer months. I did make a couple of changes. First of all, I broiled the chicken (8 minutes on each side) instead of grilling and basted it with some barbecue sauce when it was almost done. It was less of a hassle. Then, I didn't use fried onions. Instead, I cut flour tortillas in strips and fried them in a small amount of hot oil for about a minute on each side. Then I drained them on paper towels. Yum! Third, I also cooked and crumbled up some bacon and that added so much flavor to the salad- but I am partial to bacon! Lastly, I added some other salad veggies to the salad- cut cucumber, grated or sliced carrots, sliced red pepper. Don't leave out the cilantro- that's the best part! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
For carb conscious cooks, use a good low carb BBQ sauce, and slightly reduce the ranch dressing in the mix. I use Paula Deen's BBQ sauce. It's delish, and very low sugar. Chris and Pitts original is also low carb I think- I can't find it in the stores around me, but I used to use it. For taco salad, use a mix of salsa or taco sauce and ranch dressing, and either grilled or rotisserie chicken, or ground beef cooked with Ortega medium hot taco sauce, shredded cheddar cheese, and sprinkle some crumbled tortilla chips in. I've also used Franks hot wing sauce and ranch dressing for a spicy Western dressing, (easy on the Franks!), something like the Blooming Onion dressing. You can add shredded cheddar cheese or pepper jack for flavor. Ranch dressing is so versatile, it accommodates so many different flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon Branigan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
Delicious! A great twist on the usual grilled chicken salad...the whole family enjoyed this~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
WOW!!! This was so good!!! I will be making this all summer. The whole family loved this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
This recipe is soooo yummy!! I followed to recipe almost exactly, I just added salt, pepper, and some bbq sauce to the chicken before grilling. I will be making this many more times..thank you for adding it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenRioux

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Tasty! My hubby grumbled a bit (he's not a fan of salads), but I really enjoyed this. :) I absolutely LOVE the idea of subbing French's fried onions for the tortilla strips found in the famous chain's salad! I scaled this in half to feed two HUNGRY adults, and to make this a little more authentic, I made a few changes. To start, I subbed Iceberg / Romaine lettuce (bagged mix), added some julienned jicama and a generous handful of shredded Monterey-Jack cheese and cut way back on the cilantro (maybe 3 T total). I seasoned my chicken with Montreal BBQ rub and had my hubby baste it with a little BBQ sauce while he grilled it. When it was time to eat, I plated my salad a little differently (again, to mimic CPK's salad). I tossed my lettuce, beans, corn, jicama, cheese and a little dressing together (just enough dressing to lightly coat everything), then plated it. I surrounded each salad with chopped tomato and avocado and garnished with fried onions and chicken. I finished it all of with a drizzle of BBQ sauce and leftover dressing. To change things up next time, I think I'll sub tortilla strips for the fried onions and just add a chopped green onion to my salad. All in all, this rocked my taste buds and totally satisfied my craving. Thanks for sharing your recipe, AMYEH! This was PHENOMENOL!!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Barbecue Chicken

Discover a great technique for making perfect barbecue chicken.

Kale, Swiss Chard, Chicken, and Feta Salad

This delicious chicken salad is bursting with healthy greens.

Grilled Chicken Salad with Seasonal Fruit

An amazing main dish salad that stars grilled chicken and fresh seasonal fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States