Amusement Park Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2001
For my family of 10, I doubled the recipe and poured it into a 10x14 pan. I cooked it for about 40 min. It was wonderful, very moist and sweet. Everyone in the family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2001
Fast, easy recipe to prepare. The texture of the bread is pleasant, very cakelike instead of overly grainy. A nice, tender, sweet cornbread. Cooking time may vary, however, I had to bake it for 35min. At 20min it was very pale and undone. Just keep an eye on it and test its doneness by colour/clean toothpick. The result is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2001
This is a sweet cornbread that's easy to make and GREAT to eat with a meal or a snack. My particular batches usually accompany chili or stews, and the leftovers usually serve as breakfast with some honey on top. Very simple, but with GREAT results!!! Adding additional spices like chili powder or red pepper complement spicy foods. As already mentioned, cooking times may vary but it's still not too long before it's ready to serve. GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2001
I like cornbread, sweet and this definately was. You could almost frost it and eat it for dessert. Not for someone who does't like it sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2001
Finally, I think I have found the BEST cornbread recipe ever!! Oh, team this bread with some spicy chili and there is nothing better in this world...I baked this cornbread in a PREHEATED and OILED 10" (a very important step) castiron skillet and cooked for about 25-30 minutes. It was not necessary to make any substitutions. A truly superb cornbread. If you're looking for the perfect example of traditional American fare- here it is. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2001
Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2001
This was the most wonderful cornbread I have ever eaten! And I mean it! I served it with chili for a family dinner, and my parents and sisters loved it, as well as my very-very picky husband and daugther. I usually hate cornbread, its too grainy, too plain, but this is great! No honey, no butter, nothing needed! Great Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2001
Great recipe! Perfect to accompany rice and beans to chili, to toasting with some raspberry jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2001
I've been searching for the perfect cornbread recipe and I've finally found it. I used slightly less sugar than what the recipe called for. My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2001
This was the BEST cornbread ever! The cooking time is more like 40 minutes then 20 minutes though. Next time I might use a larger pan, just so it bakes through a little quicker. The bottom became quite brown (very done), because I had to leave it in so long to cook the middle. But, overall it was fantastic, and I will definitely be making this again! ~Scarlett
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLANGWAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 440) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States