Amusement Park Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Fantastic cornbread! I used it as shortcake with strawberries last week and won a cornbread contest with it this week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
This was very good and very sweet. I did make changes though. 1.5 cups flour, 1.5 cups cornmeal, and I'd probably half the sugar next time. Cooked in about 25-30 minutes, perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I followed the pack and did the 1/2 cup less flour, 1/2 cup more corn meal. I think the vanilla makes it more cupcake-y than some may like. I would reduce it to 1/2 tsp. Very moist & delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMHMC

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I really like this recipe! When making it, I decreased it by half, and made it into 6 cupcakes, so the serving size was 2/3 original. However I also accidently put double the salt in. Wow was the mixture salty!!! So I added some sugar to compensate. The result? Amazingness! Buttery, salty and sweet! It's texture is also really good, not to crumbly at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Benton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Haviland, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Though we did like this, I can only give the recipe 4 stars because we had to make some changes. Used the suggestion of most & increased the cornmeal, decreased the flour & decreased the vanilla to 3/4 teaspoon. With those changes the flavor was there but next time I will use a 10-inch cast iron skillet because it took too long to cook in the 8-inch, drying out even burning the edges. Super easy to throw together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BudsGurls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
I changed just a few things. I used one stick of butter. I preheated my griddle with vegetable oil for five minutes before adding batter. Cornbread had to cook for 30 minutes. Came out crunchy on outside and moist on the inside. Absolutly terrific!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeanMarie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
I wish I had of read the other reviews before I made this recipe. I thought it was a little too cakey and needed more cornmeal and less flour. Also the vanilla in it was a bit stronger then I wanted it. And the cook time was off. I had to cook mine for an extra 10 minutes. Overall, I think with a few personal tweaks, this could be a good recipe for next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Adams Neely

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
This is the only cornbread recipe I have used for the last few years. Cornbread is a HIGHLY personal taste, and while there are those here that don't care for this recipe - it is THE recipe for my family. Hubby won't even eat cornbread in restaurants now because he says "it can't compare". Don't let the naysayers or recipe changers alter your course - try this recipe just once- as it is, then if you don't care for this sweet cakey type, you will better know what you are looking for in your next search. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mydawnie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
I love this. We double it and make it in cast iron skillet. Sometimes I add a little more sugar or a baking sweetener and have used it as a french toast base or just toasted on a griddle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Really good and easy. I used 1/2 c more corn meal and 1/2 c less flour. Moister than my usual recipe and my kids loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Simpsonville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 438) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States