Amusement Park Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Found this cornbread to be very dense and with little flavor. The search for a "johnny cake" recipe continues.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Used half and half instead of milk because that is what I had on hand, but this recipe turned out pretty good. I will definitely make this again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
I normally don't comment on recipes, but this one was incredible! I baked in an 8 inch glass dish for about 40 minutes at 400 F. The cornbread is just way too thick to be cooked for only 20 min. The edges and top browned quite a bit, but the cornbread cooked evenly inside and still tasted great. The bread reminded me of something you would be served at a country kitchen-style restaurant -- cakey, buttery, melt in your mouth delicious. I added an extra teaspoon of vanilla, but otherwise stuck with the measurements.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
My first time making cornbread from scratch and what a hit. The cooking time did seem off as others mentioned but I didn't catch that until I ran into the problem. So after 20 min with an unset middle, I turned it down to 350 and baked for another 10-15 min. It worked great, no burnt edges and middle was set. Someone mentioned the consistency was moe like cake than cornbread and I agree but I liked it. Not overly sweet either which was a bonus on my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by alina
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
The recipe is very clear, easy and quick to prepare. Was very good, but because I love my corn muffins sweeter,in the second batter I added a few tablespoons of honey. Recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tel Aviv, Mehoz Tel-Aviv, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I followed the recipe to a tee. Worked great, had good cornbread flavor. only thing i did was to preheat my cast iron pan and also baked twenty two minutes vs. 20. Kids asked for thirds it was so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeremie Langkam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
This is the perfect recipe. Just enough sweetness. I made muffins and did have to adjust cooking time, but I think that's true with backing almost anything-you have to adjust to your oven. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Best cornbread recipe I've ever made. I've made this about 5 times. It's always perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaHawley

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
It was my first time making corn bread it was wonderful. As suggested I used 1 1/2 cups flour instead of 2 cups and 1 1/4 cornmeal instead of 3/4. I also let the cornmeal soak in milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Best cornbread ever! Did 1.5 c flour and 1.25 corn meal. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 443) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States