Amusement Park Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
Just made this cornbread, followed Wendy's reduction flour by a half and increased the cornmeal by the same amount! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmland, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
We love sweet cornbread, and this fits the bill. I reduce the sugar to 1/2 cup and use 1 cup of white whole wheat flour and 1 cup regular flour (tastes the same to us). It always takes 25 minutes in my large cast iron skillet. I usually serve with honey butter - it's almost a dessert :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
Great cornbread/muffins! I did as others suggested and used 2 C (GF) flour and 1 C corn meal. I also cut the sugar down to 1/2 C and were still sweet enough. I even had problems with my mixer and did not properly beat the butter and sugar; ended up eventually dumping everything together and stiring. This recipe is foolproof. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Very moist and has jusrt a hint of sweetness. The best cornmeal recipe I have every tried and I have been making them for over 25 years
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
I made this cornbread today for the first time, for luncheon guests. It turned out perfectly!! After reading other reviews, I increased the cornmeal by 1/2 cup and decreased flour by 1/2 cup. I also preheated my cast iron skilled in the oven before adding the batter. I cooked mine for 25 minutes and, again following another suggestion, flipped it over and baked it another 5 minutes. My husband is moaning because I sent our guests home with the leftovers! He was hoping to have it for dinner. I'll make this often -- maybe as soon as tomorrow, if I get to the store for milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
Wow, I made this cornbread for lunch today to go along with my Chicken Tortilla soup and it was FANTASTIC!! We couldn't get enough of this cornbread!! I see that some people said they changed around the amounts of flour and cornmeal and I may try that sometime but we all loved it as it is. I fried some chopped up bacon in my black cast iron skillet then pour this mixture on top of the bacon & bacon grease. I did not even keep track of how long I baked it, I just took it out when it looked like it was done, flipped it over onto a plate - and it was perfect. The bacon grease adds so much, some people may not like this idea but others will love it, so try it. This is now our families new favorite!! I would add a photo but we ate it all! Oh, and yes, it does taste a lot like cake because the texture is moist and not dry like a lot of corn breads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Norma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Delicious cornbread! I increased the cornmeal to 1 c. and cut back on the flour a bit. I exchanged 1 c. of whole wheat flour for 1 c. of the white. I also added some wheat germ and ground flax seed and left out the vanilla. Cooking time was longer, by 10 minutes in an 8x8 pan. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda M

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
In my experience twenty minutes is NO Where near enough time to bake this. I'm now left with a very dirty, burnt oven and a hmmmm campfire smelling kitchen from taking this out and seeing the still liquid inside slosh out of the pan and drip all over the oven. Putting it back in for 15 additional minutes and will use the toothpick test to ensure it's actually baked through when I take out of oven for attempt#2. I sure hope this tastes good, because cleaning the oven is not one of my favorite tasks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chocokide

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Wowowowow! So good! I love how sweet and moist it is! I could even eat it as a dessert! I did about 1/3 of the flour as whole wheat and it added the perfect amount of that healthy texture. They're really filling, and go great with everything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Found this cornbread to be very dense and with little flavor. The search for a "johnny cake" recipe continues.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 442) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States