Amusement Park Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
I made this cornbread today for the first time, for luncheon guests. It turned out perfectly!! After reading other reviews, I increased the cornmeal by 1/2 cup and decreased flour by 1/2 cup. I also preheated my cast iron skilled in the oven before adding the batter. I cooked mine for 25 minutes and, again following another suggestion, flipped it over and baked it another 5 minutes. My husband is moaning because I sent our guests home with the leftovers! He was hoping to have it for dinner. I'll make this often -- maybe as soon as tomorrow, if I get to the store for milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
Wow, I made this cornbread for lunch today to go along with my Chicken Tortilla soup and it was FANTASTIC!! We couldn't get enough of this cornbread!! I see that some people said they changed around the amounts of flour and cornmeal and I may try that sometime but we all loved it as it is. I fried some chopped up bacon in my black cast iron skillet then pour this mixture on top of the bacon & bacon grease. I did not even keep track of how long I baked it, I just took it out when it looked like it was done, flipped it over onto a plate - and it was perfect. The bacon grease adds so much, some people may not like this idea but others will love it, so try it. This is now our families new favorite!! I would add a photo but we ate it all! Oh, and yes, it does taste a lot like cake because the texture is moist and not dry like a lot of corn breads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Norma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Delicious cornbread! I increased the cornmeal to 1 c. and cut back on the flour a bit. I exchanged 1 c. of whole wheat flour for 1 c. of the white. I also added some wheat germ and ground flax seed and left out the vanilla. Cooking time was longer, by 10 minutes in an 8x8 pan. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda M

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
In my experience twenty minutes is NO Where near enough time to bake this. I'm now left with a very dirty, burnt oven and a hmmmm campfire smelling kitchen from taking this out and seeing the still liquid inside slosh out of the pan and drip all over the oven. Putting it back in for 15 additional minutes and will use the toothpick test to ensure it's actually baked through when I take out of oven for attempt#2. I sure hope this tastes good, because cleaning the oven is not one of my favorite tasks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chocokide

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Wowowowow! So good! I love how sweet and moist it is! I could even eat it as a dessert! I did about 1/3 of the flour as whole wheat and it added the perfect amount of that healthy texture. They're really filling, and go great with everything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Found this cornbread to be very dense and with little flavor. The search for a "johnny cake" recipe continues.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Used half and half instead of milk because that is what I had on hand, but this recipe turned out pretty good. I will definitely make this again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
I normally don't comment on recipes, but this one was incredible! I baked in an 8 inch glass dish for about 40 minutes at 400 F. The cornbread is just way too thick to be cooked for only 20 min. The edges and top browned quite a bit, but the cornbread cooked evenly inside and still tasted great. The bread reminded me of something you would be served at a country kitchen-style restaurant -- cakey, buttery, melt in your mouth delicious. I added an extra teaspoon of vanilla, but otherwise stuck with the measurements.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
My first time making cornbread from scratch and what a hit. The cooking time did seem off as others mentioned but I didn't catch that until I ran into the problem. So after 20 min with an unset middle, I turned it down to 350 and baked for another 10-15 min. It worked great, no burnt edges and middle was set. Someone mentioned the consistency was moe like cake than cornbread and I agree but I liked it. Not overly sweet either which was a bonus on my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by alina
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
The recipe is very clear, easy and quick to prepare. Was very good, but because I love my corn muffins sweeter,in the second batter I added a few tablespoons of honey. Recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tel Aviv, Mehoz Tel-Aviv, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 438) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States