Amusement Park Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2003
I thought it was great. I loved the sweet taste to it. However, I did make some of the changes suggested by other reviewers, 1 1/2 cup flour instead of 2 cups and 1 1/4 cup cornmeal instead of the 3/4. You gotta taste this cornbread! Good job, Trish...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2002
This recipe has real potential, but is not perfect. The cooking time is completely off, as many have pointed out. Using an 8 inch dish you have to cook 35 - 40 to get it done all the way through, then the edges and bottom are - while still edible - burnt. I liked the sweet flavor, but the texture was just not really a cornbread texture. I liked this well enough because I poured chilli over it, but when I tried it bare, it was too much like eating cake. This is, indeed, the cornbread for people who DON'T like cornbread. As many have pointed out, it is similar to Marie Calendars in flavor, but I usually use Marie Calendars mix for cornbread, and the texture is COMPLETELY different. Note: Made it the second time with 1/2 cup less flour and 1/2 cup more cornmeal and the texture was MUCH better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2002
this recipe made 6 large muffins...and delicious by the way. I have searched for a cornbread recipe that is not too sweet, not too bland, and not too dry...I have found it. I cannot believe how good this recipe is. I did cook for add'l three minutes. we made this sunday with the chili recipe on this site..it's listed just as chili...but if you type in a few ingredients in your search, it's made with dark beer and coffe amongst other amazing ingredients...takes minutes to prepare, 2 1/2 hours to cook and we've been making it nonstop since last fall...a winner for sure teamed with this cornbread! thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
This is the best cornbread I have ever had!!! I did change the recipe a little bit, to make it more of a cornmeal texture, I put in 1-1/2 c. flour and 1-1/4 c. cornmeal, I also added a little bit of honey, because I like my cornbread on the sweeter side. But this recipe is definitely a keeper!! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2001
For my family of 10, I doubled the recipe and poured it into a 10x14 pan. I cooked it for about 40 min. It was wonderful, very moist and sweet. Everyone in the family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
After reading several of the reviews, I decided to make this recipe with 1/2 cup less flour and 1/2 cup more corn meal to get a more cornbread texture as suggested by another review. It turned out VERY tasty. However, the cooking time is off. Need to cook about 10 minutes longer than suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2002
Great cakey cornbread! I put in an extra 2T. of cornmeal, and the kids loved it. Was gobbled up in no time. --For those who are allergic to eggs/dairy, the eggs, butter, & milk can easily be substituted. I used 1/4 c. water for the 2 eggs, margarine in place of the butter, & soya milk, instead of milk.-- Happy munching! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
I tried a lot of cornbread recipes on this site and this is the best. I will only make this one from now on. It's not dry and it's very tasty. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2002
Absolutely loved this recipe! Added 2 extra tblspns of corn starch for better texture & it turned out great. I made regular size muffins & the 20 minute cook time was perfect - golden brown & cooked through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2002
What this recipe needed was instead of adding milk, add condensed sweet milk. The cornbread was not as sweet as I thought it would be. The condensed milk would be much better. Other than that it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 438) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States