Amusement Park Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
Excellent! I gave it a 4 because I modified it. I did what others suggested and used 1 & 1/2 cups of flour and 1 & 1/4 cups of cornmeal. I also added a few squirts of agave syrup (it's like honey. I just needed to use it up). It had just enough sweetness and was very moist (I even used 1% milk). I used this recipe for the Corn Dog Muffins recipe on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
I didnt care for too much for this recipe. I thought it would be sweeter. Also the cooking time as others have stated is way off. I cooked it till it was done but the top was starting to burn by the time the middle was done. The inside was fine but the outside was crunchy and overcooked. Maybe if you cover it that would help. If I make this again I will def. change some things......which wouldnt really make it THIS recipe. EDIT: I made this again but this time lowered the temp to 350 degrees, and covered it with foil for about 35 min, then let it cook another 10 min uncovered. It turned out 100 times better and it was sweeter and alot more moist than last time. I kept all the ingredients the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2009
I followed another reviewers advice to make it more cornmeal-y (DMZENEFF) and use 1 1/2 c. flour and 1 1/4 c. cornmeal. I also used whole wheat stoneground flour to make it a little healthier and lowfat buttermilk. I think that the baking time might be a little off, as it's been in for 20 minutes and is still baking. Smells great. I plan on serving it with RaisinKane's Chicken Taco Soup. I'll update later as to how the family liked it. EDITED: Very good. I spread butter over the top when it came out of the oven. The way I made it was a solid cornbread, very tasty. It did take almost 45 minutes to bake. I covered it halfway through to keep it from burning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
My family loved this recipe, but I found it a bit too cakey. I even changed the ratio of cornmeal to flour like other entries did. I guess I expected the flavor to be more intense than it was. Good, but not my fav.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
Extremely dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ediblecottoncandie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
cooking time seems to be a bit off, but after it was done, it was very good. the first time I made it, I used a glass baking pan, and the second time I used a cast iron pan. Definitely dose better baked in the cast iron skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isaac Hewitt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mound, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rexburg, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I followed the recipy exactly! I made muffin out of them! The fluffed up great! They also taste great! My family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
I have been making this recipe for awhile, and my whole family loves it! I make it in an 8 inch square pan and cook it for about 5 minutes longer. Otherwise I don't change a thing! Sometimes I double the recipe and cook it in a 13 x 9 inch pan baking it for about 45 minutes. If you like sweet cornbread I cannot recommend this recipe enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ivorygrace7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frewsburg, New York, USA
Living In: Oswego, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
This recipe did come out dry, second time I modified it by adding a pack of instant vanilla pudding and switching out the sugar for honey..Its a great base recipe though and I would reduce the sweeteners in it by half for use as a chili topper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
Best cornbread I've ever made, Marie Callendars included! I substituted the all-purpose flour with rye flour and instead of sugar used molasses-butter for the fat is hands down the best! I made muffins with my batter-they were light, sweet, rustic and I'll make em' again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 443) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States