Amusement Park Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
very good cornbread. almost like a cake though so it's up to you if you like sweet cornbread or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
I followed the recipe as directed but came out thick and taste more like a dry cake instead of cornbread. This recipe was not was I was looking for. I will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
This recipe did not work at all for me. It was more like a sponge cake and had wayyyyyyy too much milk. It also burned because of the cooking time. Don't waste your time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by musicmomto4

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
Very sweet and moist, almost dessert-like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanny Manny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
I do like my cornbread sweet, but this wasn't anything special. I am still searching for that perfect recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
This is the best cornbread I have ever tasted! The cook time was off for me, but it turned out wonderful after I let it cook for 25 min. at 400 and turned the oven down to 350 for another 10 min. I will never buy a mix again! Thank you so much for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
Really good cornbread but I like to place iron skillet in oven leave for about 4mins. I have heard also to leave your cornmeal sit for about 5mins before you place it in hot skillet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Flint, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
Excellent! I gave it a 4 because I modified it. I did what others suggested and used 1 & 1/2 cups of flour and 1 & 1/4 cups of cornmeal. I also added a few squirts of agave syrup (it's like honey. I just needed to use it up). It had just enough sweetness and was very moist (I even used 1% milk). I used this recipe for the Corn Dog Muffins recipe on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
I didnt care for too much for this recipe. I thought it would be sweeter. Also the cooking time as others have stated is way off. I cooked it till it was done but the top was starting to burn by the time the middle was done. The inside was fine but the outside was crunchy and overcooked. Maybe if you cover it that would help. If I make this again I will def. change some things......which wouldnt really make it THIS recipe. EDIT: I made this again but this time lowered the temp to 350 degrees, and covered it with foil for about 35 min, then let it cook another 10 min uncovered. It turned out 100 times better and it was sweeter and alot more moist than last time. I kept all the ingredients the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2009
I followed another reviewers advice to make it more cornmeal-y (DMZENEFF) and use 1 1/2 c. flour and 1 1/4 c. cornmeal. I also used whole wheat stoneground flour to make it a little healthier and lowfat buttermilk. I think that the baking time might be a little off, as it's been in for 20 minutes and is still baking. Smells great. I plan on serving it with RaisinKane's Chicken Taco Soup. I'll update later as to how the family liked it. EDITED: Very good. I spread butter over the top when it came out of the oven. The way I made it was a solid cornbread, very tasty. It did take almost 45 minutes to bake. I covered it halfway through to keep it from burning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 440) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States