Amusement Park Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 2, 2007
Oooh no, this is no Jiffy mix. This is the BEST cornbread ever! It was moist, didn't have that grainy cornbread texture, was sweet, and sooo good. I did take the advice of another reviewer and added 1/3 cup sour cream for additional moisture. Also, used a 10-in. skillet, as that was all I had. PERFECT!! All my other cornbread recipes are out the window.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOOKEDONJESUS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
This cornbread is wonderful! For those of you out there saying it's just like cheapo Jiffy Mix - I must have grown up using the wriong kind of Jiffy, cause I remember it being dry and blah! This cornbread is MOIST, fluffy, flavorful, and YEAH SWEET! But if that's the kind of cornbread you like, then this will be perfect! Thanks for the awsome recipe - I will be making it frequently!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
Never had corn bread before this and now all others don't compare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
Family loved this recipe. One of the wifey's favorite breakfast items.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
I've been searching for a cornbread recipe that isn't dry. I didn't think it existed until now! This was is so sweet and yummy. I didn't end up throwing half the batch out. Really good re-heated as this recipe makes a lot of cornbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
Much better with more cornmeal/less flour. But a great recipe overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arielle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
I've made this many times now, and it's turned out perfectly each time. My modifications: 1) I use somewhat less than the suggested amount of sugar. The cornbread is still sweet. 2) I use a 10 in. cast iron skillet. I put about 3/4 tablespoon of unsalted butter in the pan, and put it in the oven while it's preheating. Then I take the pan out after a few minutes, when the butter is melted but not yet browned. I swirl the pan around (carefully!) to evenly coat it with the butter, and then pour in the batter. This way you get a nicely browned crust. Usually I end up baking it for longer than the suggested time, but it seems to be oven-dependent. This cornbread has been a big hit every time I've made it for someone. I think that cast iron is the key to making this a great recipe vs. a good one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
This recipe was okay. It was defiantly sweet. I started out using 1 and 1/4 cup cornmeal and 1 and 1/2 flour. I used Whole Spelt flour and had to add an extra 1/2 cup of flour. I put them in muffin cups and they got done in about 23 minutes. They weren't to bad. A little to sweet for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
I did not like this cornbread. I will admit that I did not have a skillet to bake it in so I used a Chicago Metallic 9 x 9 inch pan. After the recommend baking time, my cornbread had a gooey center. I did bake it for a few minutes longer but then got a very dry on the the outside edges cornbread. Regardless of the texture, the flavor just was not there. I will not make this recipe again. I was so disappointed after the good reviews I read.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
Well, I followed the directions but what I got was a half burnt, still raw in the middle, thick mostly inedible dark brown chunk. The pan size in the directions is too small, the oven too hot. The center of the bread wasn't cooked even though the rest of it was starting to burn. I had to cut away the entire middle of the bread, plus the edges and bottom were too dark and too tough to be edible, so over half of this wasn't even salvageable. As far as flavor, it was just cornbread. Nothing spectacular. Much like Jiffy. I'm not sure if I want to try this again with a bigger skillet and a lower oven temp or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 443) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States