Amsterdam Hippie Soymilk Chai Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
So delicious! Expensive to make but so worth it! Love the name and the story behind it too. Next time I think I will try vanilla soymilk to make it a little sweeter, but Blue Agave sweetener worked very well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
This is probably going to be my comfort drink for the rest of my life. Simply delicious. I have tons of fresh spices, but I've never considered using them in a drink! I used vanilla soymilk, and the end result is delicious -- I'm drinking it right now. The spices aren't very strong, but potent enough to give my palate a nudge. Phenomenal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2007
yummy. I changed it a lot though. I actually did add a bag of chai tea since I had it and was missing cardamom. I added some splenda instead of the brown sugar but I dont even think it needed it..I find soymilk to be so sweet (vanilla soymilk that is) anyway. But this was great, I used to make myself chai every morning.. except I would make the tea with water and just add a splash of soymilk. but this is so creamy and doesnt take very long so I think I'll do this next time I want some chai :) maybe even add a piece of orange peel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahS
Living In: Ringwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
I make this all of the time. I use vanilla soymilk, and I don't use any sugar. I am very generous with the spices and with the length of cooking time. The result is a very flavorful drink, and I love it. Thanks so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gresham, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2005
Thank you for this recipe! I used 1 qt water and 1 qt soymilk, and used honey instead of sugar. It's great to be able to make chai without the tea. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2003
Yum...this was a really good recipe. I actually had some masala chai on hand, so I just threw it in and brewed it up along with the rest of the ingredients, which added even more flavor. Now I know how to use the rest of that tea; I'll be making this regularly now. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHELAGH420

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2003
This is fantastic. I used vanilla soy milk, 1/4 tsp ground cloves, 2 tsp ground cardamom, I shredded the ginger in my food processor and wrapped it in cheesecloth. I used 4 cinnamon sticks and a lot more brown suger.I also doubled the recipe the second time I made it because we enjoyed it so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2002
I love this healthy and fun drink! It's simple to make and warm you up very well. I used garam masala for those spices because that's what I had (garam masala contains cinnamon, clove, and cardomom). Also I used unrefined stevia for brown sugar because I'm on a special diet, and it still tasted great. I like the naming and the story behind it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2001
Great chai!! Very flavorful. You could add black or green tea if you'd like, but this is great without it. I added one vanilla bean, sliced into 2" lengths, but next time I may just use vanilla soymilk instead of plain soymilk. I substituted honey for the brown sugar. I preferred mine much sweeter, so I greatly increased the amount of sweetener. This is great hot or cold. Thanks for the great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chai Tea Mix

With this simple homemade chai mix, you can have chai tea any time!

How to Make Tea

See how to brew the perfect cup of black, green, or herbal tea.

How to Make Pour-Over Coffee

Enjoy freshly-brewed coffee, one delicious cup at a time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States