Amish Yumazuti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
As written, this dish is dry; but I've made a few adjustments that make it much better. First, add some salt and pepper to the hamburger when cooking. One can of tomatoes is hardly worth the effort - increase it to two. I mix about 1 cup of light sour cream and about 1/4 cup of milk in with the soup. Don't layer with the cheese. Cover with aluminum foil and bake about 45 minutes. Then, top with shredded cheese (I'm not sure what the point of a 1/4 cup of cheese is....increase it to your liking), remove foil and cook ~10 more minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
I've made this recipe twice. The first time, I followed exactly as written however, I could only cook it for 30 minutes as it was drying out and one whole onion was too much; 12 oz. of egg noodles was also too much. It tasted ok, but was dry. The second time I used 1/2 onion, plain diced tomatoes (not stewed), substituted mozzarella for the cheddar, used 1/2 package of noodles and cooked for about 20 minutes and it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2003
No complaints here! It's very appropriate this dish is called Amish YUMzuti because it is delicious! I just took it out of the oven and had to try a little bit since it smelled so good when it was baking. The cheese made this glorious crust over the noodles, and that alone was enough to make me give this a five-star review. The combination of cream of chicken soup, canned tomatoes and ground beef sounded bizarre, but it is really complimentary. I used bow-tie pasta and greased the bottom of my baking dish with I Can't Believe It's Not Butter spray. The noodles came out without any problems, and I'm thoroughly enjoying my tiny helping of this great casseole. Thank you for sharing, Karen! I'll be sure to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medical Lake, Washington, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
Made this twice so far!! First time I followed the original recipe. But it was a little dry and the noodles on top became crunchy. The second time, I used two cans of cream of mushroom, doubled the garlic, and added chopped mushrooms to the beef and that did the trick. excellent dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2004
This was a great change from the everyday casserole. Even my hubby liked it even though he is not a big fan of casseroles. The only modifications I made was to add another can of cream of chicken soup, about 1 cup of cheese and I used diced tomatoes with onions, peppers & celery and only 6 oz. of noodles. I noticed some comments stated the noodles were crunchy...Tip:make sure all noodles are covered with sauce. This is a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairview, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2002
I read several of the other views. I used cream of mushroom soup and thinned it out. Next time I'll add 2 soups. I also added more cheese. I'll also plan on adding green pepper and mushroom when I brown the meat. Overall it was good and we will add it to our meal planner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
I gave this 4 stars, but only because I altered it. I used Italian stewed tomatoes, added some chopped green bell peppers, 86ed the celery, subbed elbow macaroni noodles because I didn't have any egg noodles, and added tomato sauce because other reviewers said it was a bit dry. It was delicious! My kids loved it, which is a pretty big deal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JosieBailey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2002
I made this last night and we really liked it... I'm sure I will make it again. It's easy to make, doesn't take a lot of prep time, and tastes great, plus the leftovers are great to take for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2003
My husband is pretty amateur in the kitchen, but I handed him this recipe and he made it with no trouble at all. The whole family enjoyed this meal. It's the first recipe we've tried from this website and believe me it won't be the last. Good comfort food. Thanks for submitting it Karen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
very tasty, but you have to add 1 extra can soup and i think maybe a half cup of milk mixed with it, tends to dry out while baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 304) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Amish Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a cheesy breakfast casserole with bacon and hash browns.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Baked Spaghetti

A hearty baked spaghetti casserole with three kinds of cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States