Amish Yumazuti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
Pretty good. I over cooked it (which is not part of my rating) Which made a crustier top, but I king of liked the over cooked cheddar taste. I made it per the recipe although I did omit the onion and added onion powder instead. I also added 1/3 c. water to help with the dryness. It is better than hamburger helper. My husband loves HH, but my daughters and I hate it...this was a good compromise...similar in a small way, but definitely better. Next time I try it I'm going to cook it maybe 40 minutes instead...the noodles had gotten too soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
I loved this dish and so did my husband! I read all the reviews first and ended up doubling the amount of soup, tomatoes, and shredded cheese. It came out so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
I can see why people complain that this is a very dry dish. I doubled the soup called for and I thought it was barely okay for sauce quantity. My husband loved the flavor and I'll be making this again probably doubling both the soup and the tomatoes. I also used fat free kraft sharp cheddar slices instead of regular cheddar which helped make the sauce have a creamier consistancy. Use low sodium soup and tomatoes to help lower to sodium content.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSKWRIGHT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boring, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
I didn't make any changes to the recipe and it was just okay. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
my family ate the whole pan!!! and i doubled the recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie Clutter Laurence

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Sweetwater, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
This recipe has been a big hit with my family. I made some slight alterations to the recipe. Such as adding more cream of chicken soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ScottF
Home Town: Clive, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
This recipe was awesome!!! I modified it b/c my husband doesnt eat tomatoes, so I added mushrooms and tripled the amount of cheese it called for, using cheddar, colby, monteray jack and just a little bit of parmesan. Not one bite left of leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
I made this as listed but used Wacky Mac (different sized/flavor noodle mix) and probably 1/2 to 1 cup of cheese instead of the egg noodles & 1/4 c cheese. My younger boys (5&9) & I loved it. I would probably double everything but the noodles next time because there were no leftovers and of course gotta have extra cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Waynesville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
If you take all the recommendations to CHANGE the recipe and then my recommendation to almost double the meat required - then it's good. I gave this a 3 rating because there's so much more you have to do to the original to make it more flavorful/less dry/more meaty. It's good when it's all said and done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
I am always looking for new ground beef dishes I adapted this recipe with help from previous reviewers to suit my taste and what I had on hand which is what I always suggest on a new recipe. Heres what I changed: I used a box of macaroni & cheese noodles instead of egg noodles I used green pepper instead of celery since I was out of celery :) I added salt & pepper to each layer along with a touch of seasoning salt to meat only I used one can of diced tomatoes and one can of tomato sauce mixed together I added about 1/2 cup of milk and 1/4 cup of sour cream along with the cheese package from the mac n cheese to the cream of chicken soup & stirred well prior to adding to other ingredients. I mixed it all together in the greased baking dish, covered it with marble jack cheese and sprinkled dried parsley on the top. I baked it at 375 degrees for 35-40 minutes until cheese was melted. It was very good. Next time I will cook noodles a little less than al dente (or maybe use rotini?) because this version is not dry at all and noodles cooked more while baking. I served with garlic bread. Even my picky toddler ate it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom_of_3_hungry_kids

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lima, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 306) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Amish Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a cheesy breakfast casserole with bacon and hash browns.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States