Amish White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
Very easy to make and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Francy Ferreira

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
I really liked this bread. It is denser than most breads I have made which I like. And with all the sugar, it has a sweeter taste too, also the salt really lends a nice flavor. It does taste like "Amish" white bread we get at the Amish bakery in Sugarcreek Ohio. I used 1 cup of whole wheat flour and while kneading had to add an extra cup of white flour to keep it elastic and not sticking. Thanks for posting this recipe, it is my "go to" bread from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose Mary Grimm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
This is my very first attempt at making bread and I gotta say, this is great for my confidence! Delicious bread! I did cut the sugar in half. I did coat the second loaf with egg white before baking. Personally, I liked the first one better. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
this is a very good bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Betsy Rambow Konkolewski
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
This bread is delicious and SO easy to make!! My 8 year old daughter loved helping knead the dough too! It IS a little sweet but it is very good!! It's a great wintertime bread, very hearty with soup and chili! GREAT warm with butter! Yum!!! My husband and kids LOVED it! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
Great recipe; I just tweaked it a bit. I used 2 and 1/2 TBS butter and doubled the sugar. It was wonderful. Thanks for the receipt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gail giddings

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
Delicious and easy to make I was think about purchasing a bread maker but with this recipe I don't need to
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michelle Reed-Harris
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
This is a great recipe! I love the fact they have you proof the yeast first. This is a step left out of many recipes. I added about 1/2 tsp more of yeast. I also have made this recipe with more sugar. All versions have been delicious so far. I make this recipe without a mixer or bread machine. It is SO easy to do by hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Reed-Harris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
This recipe is exactly what I was looking for. This was easy to make, it rose as expected both in the bowl and in pans. I used all of the sugar and it was in the oven before I read all of the reviews that claimed it was too sweet. I made two loaves that rose nice and high they were slightly more dense than the squishy grocery store white bread but definitely not too dense. The flavor was that of white bread. I cooked them for exactly 30 minutes. It was not too sweet and just homemade tasting enough to make it worth it. My children love to eat white bread- plain and toasted and the store bought varieties have so many chemicals. This is awesome. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mexico, New York, USA
Living In: Bossier City, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 3,659) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States