Amish White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by AgnusDei
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AgnusDei

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
I've made this 3x and each time its amazing- I am new to the bread making game so needless to say this is a simple and great tasting bread. I brushed with egg wash and added sesame seeds. that's all the change I made...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Sullivan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
Tasty but the first time I made it I put in 6 cups of flour. The second time I only put 5 cups of flour and add a pinch here and there as I kneaded. That took away the floury taste. But, either way super tasty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
Yummy, light. Followed recipe except cut sugar to 1/4 cup as I don't like my bread too sweet. Found dough much more rubbery than others I make and had to knead until my arms felt as though they were falling up. Worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Absolutely love this recipe I make it all the time and only a couple adjustments Ive made to the recipe over the many years I've been baking it. First before raising second time I slightly cut down the center of the loaves to make them split top then I actually let it rise a full hour the second time this makes it just perfect. Everyone loves it. I also cover the tops of the loaves towards the end with foil to reduce browning on the tops of the loaves then I brush it with melted butter after taking it from the oven. Great recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
i have used a recipe like this for years.. evertime i try to cut the sugar, my family throws a fit... I have found that to cut down on how dense it can be, i add a little extra yeast and allow it to rise a little longer. This works perfectly.... It make excelent morning toast...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Desiree Hasley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
I haven't made bread in yrs, so I was a little nervous. My first batch was good, had a few mistakes. Second batch and there after, came out great. To make the bread healthier, I used raw honey instead of sugar and coconut oil instead of vegetable oil. It turned out phenomenal. I have a kitchen aid mixer, so the dough hook attachment was wonderful since I injured a hand.Put dough hook on speed 2 and never go over this speed. And remember yeast will get kind of foamy. You will love this bread. If it doesn't come out right...don't give up...keep at it. You will be rewarded!!! It's a dense bread and with the honey it's not as sweet, but oh so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Andrey Blystone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Van Wert, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Other than reducing sugar to 1/3c. I changed nothing else. This is the best recipe out there!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
SUPER easy, SUPER yummy, NO FAIL recipe!!! Perfect rolls... and, with a family full of people that can't have ANY dairy, this is AWESOME!!!!!! Works with wheat flour, white flour, or a combo of the two... I usually do 1/2 wheat and 1/2 white. (Although, depending on the humidity of the day, you may need to adjust the flour amounts. I have used from 4-7 cups flour depending.) THANK YOU!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Easy & yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 3,452) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States