Amish White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by katibee
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I love this recipe. For those of you that said it turned out too dense and that it called for too much flour, how much flour a bread recipe calls for is more like a guideline. Altitudes, climate, and even seasons will change how much you put in. I myself have varied a whole cup amount in the same location, but the season was different. After you've added the first 3 cups you want to add just half a cup at a time so it doesn't end up too dense. The less flour you add, the lighter/fluffier it will be. If it is still sticky but can stay in one piece if you hold it up, that's about where you want it. I just made it yesterday again but did half brown wheat and half white and my husband and I both liked it better. He is graduating this semester and asked if I would make this bread for a couple of his professors who have helped him a lot. I always get compliments for it at family gatherings as well. Love, love it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
I just made this bread today. I had to wait to eat it as I was going out. It was so worth the wait! My husband and daughter both loved the taste and texture. My husband said " make sure to save the recipe". The only thing I did differently was to use rapid rise yeast. Try it you will love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
Finally got a bread recipe that works! I followed directions and checked the reviews for tips and used good yeast and it didn't fall! Next time I will reduce the sugar but it's SOOO good! My kids love it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Omgoodness! This bread is just wonferul! I was a little worried at first because it didn't seem to be rising as well as the bread I made yesterday but since I'm extremely new at this i figured to bake and see what happens. It came out beautifully! I followed recipe but used a stand mixer . half the dough was to make dinner rolls and the other half for a loaf of bread. I don't think its too sweet at all, I love it and so does my children! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Awesome recipe. Everybody loves it and it's so easy to make. It's impossible to screw up this recipe if you follow the directions exactly as stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michael Cale McMillan
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
Very easy recipe with solid results. I did how ever lower the sugar to 1/4 cup, and increased the sales by a 1/2 teaspoon. Also 15 minutes before I took my bread out I did an egg wash with a whole egg and a splash of water for color and a more firm crust. Just my preference. You could just as easily do a butter wash after it is done baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
This bread was great! I would suggest using less sugar because it was sweeter than I thought it would be. The bread was soft and dense on the inside and the crust was just right. I let my bread rise for much longer than I was supposed to though- overnight! (Was super busy and forgot about it!) It still turned out amazing though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Haleyjo Elizabeth Hompstead

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Flat Rock, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Great recipe! I use my kitchen Aid stand mixer to make the dough using the dough hook and slowly add the last cup of flour until the dough cleans the sides and bottom of the mixing bowl. It turns out perfect every time I make it. I also use EVO instead of vegetable oil just for the added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
I love this bread I make it all the time it is a little dense I to reduced the sugar to make it lighter but I didn't like it as well so I went back to following it just as the recipe states
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wakeman, Ohio, USA
Living In: Norwalk, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Catina
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
This has easy to follow instructions and tastes delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 3,539) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States