Amish White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
4 out of 5. Easy to make and rises beautifully. It was however way to sweet for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shyla Beth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lil'mrsjinks!
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Oh Lord!! This is a keeper!! My husband has been begging me to find a good recipe for Homemade Bread!! I made this today and he absolutely loved it!! We ate our slices with butter and jelly!! Thanks for sharing!!????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Robert Waters
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
This is my new standard recipe for making easy yeast bread at home! It turned out delicious and was quickly devoured by the family. For those who complain of dense bread, or it being too sweet, make sure your yeast is fresh and to let it get thoroughly "started" before proceeding with the recipe. The longer you leave the yeast in the sugar-water, the less sweet and more of a sour dough taste you'll get. Also, make sure to kneed the dough enough to develop adequate gluten so it's not too dense or crumbly...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robert Waters

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
This has proven to be my go-to bread that my family loves. We find that this bread unlike some recipes has a good shelf life and is not to quick to go stale. Have also made variations of this using molasses instead of white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
this bread is great I have made it a dozen or so times...for those who don't make bread be patient...let it fully rise and make sure you use a candy or meat thermometer because that 110 degrees f is critical 105-115.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by keelover2
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Great recipe, since we're using it for Texas French Toast didn't mind the sweetness. Will try a little less sugar when using it for sandwiches, but loved the results for 1st attempt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Family loved it. This cooks up a little larger than the breadmaker can handle so if you typically use the breadmaker you may want to consider prepping the dough in the maker and then transferring the tray to the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Countertop

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I made this as my own 4-H project last year and added honey and pecans, it turned out perfect and delicious. Definitely a keep recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mewest1
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Loved it!!!! The easiest and most tasty recipe ever!!! Ladies for those of you who had issues making this recipe, please ensure you are using fresh yeast or your bread will not rise. This recipe should call for patience. If you are in a rush this recipe is not for you!!! I used this recipes to make cinnamon rolls and cheese stuffed dinner rolls. The best ever!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calexico, California, USA
Living In: El Centro, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
My go to quick and easy! I like to add things to this basic recipe to give it umph
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yvette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 3,586) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States