Amish White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2015
Just wanted say that we made this bread twice and loved it. Per other's suggestions, we cut the sugar down from 2/3 cup to 1/2 cup and it suits our taste just great. I have not tried the original recipe so cannot comment on its sweetness. For beginner breadmakers like me, I would like to stress how important it is to knead the dough well before the first rise. I kneaded it for at least 10min to develop the gluten. I'm sure the longer the better. Try the poke test and the windowpane test to know when it's ready. The first time we made the bread it was very crumbly and difficult to use as sandwich bread without toasting or grilling it first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2015
Good consistency, but too much sugar for me. Next time I will reduce the sugar by at least 2/3 of the described amount. In addition you can also use ordinary yeast too and if you follow the recipe it will be 17grams of yeast instead of 1 1/2 tablespoon. If you want a upper crust, put a bowl of water into the owen and also reduce the temperature with 20 C if you are using a convection oven. On top of it, it was easy to make! I did put the loafs in one loaf pan and the other in a round high cake pan. The later turned out really great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Photo by Keenema
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2015
Followed the recipe exactly and it turned out great! Not too sweet at all, but I like sweeter bread. The only thing I would do different next time is to flour the glass pan a bit, I had some trouble getting the loaf to come out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2015
I loved this recipe! I have to admit, I was worried at first it would be too sweet with all the sugar, but it was just the right amount. Don't change anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura McIlwaine
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2015
This is hands down the best and easiest bread recipe EVER! I've tried all kinds of bread recipes and I was very skeptical with how easy and basic this is but it's amazing! I made 1 batch and both loaves were gone in 1 day! I made another batch and that lasted almost a day and a half, my kids will just sit and eat slice after slice. It is wonderfully sweet and doesn't crumble or fall apart like some white breads do when you try to spread butter or peanut butter on it. I will never need another bread recipe! I made it as is and the only change I made was that I only had to cook it for 20 minutes before it was done, but other than follow this recipe exactly and you'll fall in love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2015
Always turns out great, one time I let the yeast proof for too long (over night) so the bread was very yeasty and not sweet at all. Best not to over-proof.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2015
What a great bread recipe! I did ad someone else suggested and cut the sugar down to 1/4 cup only. I also added some vital wheat gluten (3 tsp). I will be making this as my standard sandwich bread for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2015
This bread has become a staple in our home. Heaven for bid..if we run out. Thanks for a wonderful, easy bread recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda Lee Iwamasa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2015
This bread is amazing ! Easy, delicious, and stays fresh. We make it every Sunday for the week. No preservatives, no chemicals. It stays well until Friday. We use a bread machine, makes it even easier. So simple. My husband makes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2015
Amazing bread recipe. Made it multiple times now and just love it. I think I am going to try making it into rolls this time and see how that works out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey Branham

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 3,696) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States