Amish White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
This is the best bread recipe I have found that even comes close to the homemade yeast rolls my daddy used to make. Not hard to make and does not take all day. I sprinkle a little oatmeal on the bottom of the pan and then press some on the top. It is awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sdavis08
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Amazing!! I cut the recipe in 1/2, but followed it to a T, and it was so ridiculously amazing!! My son, who happens to the pickiest eater ever, ate 3 very thick slices fresh out of the oven. He's already asked if I'm gonna make more. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
This is a good base bread recipe, but I change it for my purposes. I prefer wheat for nutritional purposes, so I do 3/4th of the flour as whole wheat flour and 1/4th of it white just to give some levity to the bread. I also only use 1/3 cup of flour, unless I intend to use the dough for something sweet, like cinnamon rolls, then I'll do closer to the amount the recipe calls for. I use coconut oil instead of vegetable oil. I also add pure gluten to make up for the fact that I don't use bread flour (which has a higher gluten content, so I prefer just to keep regular flour and add gluten when needed). I also add a little dough conditioner. I made this without the gluten and dough conditioner, and it was still good, but those two things make it rise far more and make it more soft, airy and less likely to dry-out. Definitely worth adding to it!!! Makes for a delicious bread, which I make each Sunday to last us through the week. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
Made this up tonight. Two perfect loaves. I reduced the sugar to 1/4 cup as suggested by another review and it was perfect. Not to sweet at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
The 2nd time I made this recipe, it turned out great. I live at a high altitude, so baking is always a challenge. The flavor of the bread with butter was amazing. Not so much with sandwich bread. It just lacked flavor. I'll use this recipe when I need a sweet bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mysti Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glenwood, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Monument, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Love it just make sure you let it proof properly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lady Innominate
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
This was my first time making bread without using the bread machine. It was so easy to make and tastes really good too. It is a bit sweet for sandwich bread but makes a great piece of toast with honey butter. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lady Innominate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Great recipe, very easy and perfect consistency of white bread. I will use this again. I did only add 2tbsp of sugar as previous review recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KBell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
I make this recipe regularly for our every day bread. I only use 1/2 cup sugar. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
We loved this bread! I ran out of white flour, so I substituted 1 cup of whole wheat flour. It turned out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 3,511) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States