Amish White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I love this recipe! As a novice bread maker I had no trouble with this one. The only things I did different was I made 3 1.4lb loafs instead of two large ones and I cut the sugar to 2tbls as suggested. I use a mixer (bad hands) and this was fast and really easy. My friend and family are very impressed with the taste and look. Thank-you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pepsitwist

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Not only was this recipe easy to make by hand, which is the way I usually make my bread. It worked great in my kitchen aid mixer as well. It is a delicious bread! My family loves it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kattrina Gagne
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
This is a great recipe but I found it a tad too sweet as a basic bread. Will try it with coconut or raisins next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I cut this entire recipe in half, to make one loaf, and i only used 1 T of turbinado. However, I was only interested in making white bread, not Amish white bread. Thank you for sharing. This is a fantastic,fool-proof recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Awesome! Worked perfectly. Since it is chilly in the house right now, after I let it rise for the first time and put it in the loaf pan, I set the oven to "warm" (around 100 degrees F) and let it rise the rest of the way in the warm oven with the door slightly cracked. Then, once it had risen, baked per instructions. Yum yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I really like this bread. Used about 1/4c sugar instead of 1/3c(half recipe) as some suggested maybe using less. Rolled it up with cinnamon in it and it was super yummy. Going to try some french toast with it in the morning. But definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
My first time making a somewhat successful bread. I was happy with it except for the fact that it was a little dense. I don't know if I needed to knead it more or what. Overall, I will try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StarMoon Mommi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
I love this bread! So easy to make, does not require as much rising time as some yeast breads. Has a little sweetness to it which I like. I did not use mixer with dough hook, I mixed mine by hand, very simple. I plan to make this bread weekly and may give some loaves as Christmas gifts, along with cookies and fudge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Loved it, a sweeter bread that reminds me of my grandmothers bread. Although I would suggest watching how much flour you do put in, do it a cup at a time as I only really needed 5 cups in the dough and the last cup was sparingly used to knead the dough in. It didn't rise as much as I'd hoped as I used cooler water than I should have to activate the yeast which I would think was the problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 3,432) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States