Amish White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
The thing I love about this recipe is the simplicity of it. I am living somewhere remote where supplies are hard to come by, so the less ingredients the better. But despite the lack of ingredients, the bread ended up really great - not too light or dense, not too sweet or salty, just right in every way. Perfect for toast or eating fresh (the freshness kept for about 3-4 days before getting a bit stale).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
OMGee this was unbelievably sweet! More like it should be used for sweet rolls than bread. The dough handled easily and baked into a lovely loaf which is the reason for giving it 3 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Brookville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Rushville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
This bread was good, but it's really dense and a little sweet to be your "everyday" bread. I ended up using it to grill paninis and make french toast. There wasn't anything wonderfully over-the-top delicious about it. But if you're looking for a thick, specialty loaf this is good. Solid B rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
Excellent, a fool-proof recipe. I cut the sugar by half also and got perfect sandwich bread. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
This was fantastic! I made this for Samhain, And it was amazing! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
This reminded me of the bread my mom used to bake. I didn't alter anything and it came out perfectly. It is very easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
Kids are asking for it just to eat with nothing on it. Its is like a dessert to them :) Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
The bread is delicious, and the recipe is so easy to remember! However, I can never get the loaves dense enough to be sandwich worthy, like in the picture. It's always falling apart as soon as I cut it. But it's still delicious to eat alone, with butter, honey, or jam! ...I also have a very old gas range oven, which probably doesn't cook them very well. That could be why.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I just made this today and it came out soooo good! It is a little on the sweet side but I like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
Love it with a few adjustments as others suggested only 2 tbsp sugar, less flour I add 1 cup at a time until it comes off the side of the bowl then mix on high 5 min and then by hand kneeling in another half cup flour for a total of 5.5 cups. I let rise in a large Tupperware bowl with lid that sits in a sink filled with hot water the key being its Not metal you can use any bowl in our cold house the dough still doubles in 30 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 151-160 (of 3,373) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States