Amish White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Photo by Bobbie Reed
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
This is a great recipe. I take it out of the mixer and shape into loaves, let it raise and bake it. It comes out perfect every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbie Reed

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
I've made this twice and it has been perfect each time. Very simple recipe and it tastes so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Resulted in a nice loaf that cut into sandwich slices perfectly. I did cut back on the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I forgot the sugar, but i added it to the top! It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalia Heidel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by katibee
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I love this recipe. For those of you that said it turned out too dense and that it called for too much flour, how much flour a bread recipe calls for is more like a guideline. Altitudes, climate, and even seasons will change how much you put in. I myself have varied a whole cup amount in the same location, but the season was different. After you've added the first 3 cups you want to add just half a cup at a time so it doesn't end up too dense. The less flour you add, the lighter/fluffier it will be. If it is still sticky but can stay in one piece if you hold it up, that's about where you want it. I just made it yesterday again but did half brown wheat and half white and my husband and I both liked it better. I always get compliments when I make this and have had several people ask me if I added gluten because it doesn't crumble and is very moist. I have found that most bread recipes are great right out of the oven but are crumbly and dry the next day, but this one stays good for about a week and a half before it starts to get a little dry. Love, love it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
I just made this bread today. I had to wait to eat it as I was going out. It was so worth the wait! My husband and daughter both loved the taste and texture. My husband said " make sure to save the recipe". The only thing I did differently was to use rapid rise yeast. Try it you will love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
Finally got a bread recipe that works! I followed directions and checked the reviews for tips and used good yeast and it didn't fall! Next time I will reduce the sugar but it's SOOO good! My kids love it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Omgoodness! This bread is just wonferul! I was a little worried at first because it didn't seem to be rising as well as the bread I made yesterday but since I'm extremely new at this i figured to bake and see what happens. It came out beautifully! I followed recipe but used a stand mixer . half the dough was to make dinner rolls and the other half for a loaf of bread. I don't think its too sweet at all, I love it and so does my children! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Awesome recipe. Everybody loves it and it's so easy to make. It's impossible to screw up this recipe if you follow the directions exactly as stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michael Cale McMillan
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
Very easy recipe with solid results. I did how ever lower the sugar to 1/4 cup, and increased the sales by a 1/2 teaspoon. Also 15 minutes before I took my bread out I did an egg wash with a whole egg and a splash of water for color and a more firm crust. Just my preference. You could just as easily do a butter wash after it is done baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 3,673) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States