Amish White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
I LIKE THIS RECIPE WITH HALF AN ONION DICED AND SAUTED AND ADDED BETWEEN STEP 1 AND STEP 2
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
I've made a lot of bread. This recipe by far is the best. I ate four slices right out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
This simple recipe has convinced me to make our family's bread fresh every morning. The extra loaf makes a lovely gift.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
This bread is wonderful! It's the perfect sandwich bread for our little family. I have even subbed a couple of cups of whole wheat flour and a 1/2 cup vital wheat gluten with great results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie B.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Versatile is certainly the right word for this bread! I've made it with bread flour, white flour, and half whole wheat flour/half white flour. I let it cool in the pan for about 10 min. before turning the bread out onto a large plate and rubbing a thin coat of butter all over the crust. I like to make 1 loaf regular Amish Bread and the other loaf Raisin Amish Bread. To do so, follow step #1 as normal. For step #2, stir in the salt, oil, and 1c. flour. Divide between 2 bowls. To the 1st bowl (regular dough), add 2 1/2c. flour. For the 2nd bowl, add 1 tsp. cinnamon, 1 tsp. white sugar, 1/8 tsp. nutmeg, 1/3-1/2 c. raisins; stir, then mix in 2 1/2 c. flour. Knead each dough separately, and allow to rise in 2 well-oiled bowls. Follow remaining steps as original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
Bread tastes GREAT !!!First time baking bread, and it came out perfect :)Crispy on the outside, soft and airy on the inside. I did let it rise for an hour (the 2nd time, while in loaf pans and turned on the house heat up for that particular room the dough was rising in). It is a very rich bread. OMG ! Definitely a keeper !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikotris

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lake Placid, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
This was the easiest bread I have ever made. I did cut back on the sugar though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lacijai

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
The thing I love about this recipe is the simplicity of it. I am living somewhere remote where supplies are hard to come by, so the less ingredients the better. But despite the lack of ingredients, the bread ended up really great - not too light or dense, not too sweet or salty, just right in every way. Perfect for toast or eating fresh (the freshness kept for about 3-4 days before getting a bit stale).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
OMGee this was unbelievably sweet! More like it should be used for sweet rolls than bread. The dough handled easily and baked into a lovely loaf which is the reason for giving it 3 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Brookville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Rushville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
This bread was good, but it's really dense and a little sweet to be your "everyday" bread. I ended up using it to grill paninis and make french toast. There wasn't anything wonderfully over-the-top delicious about it. But if you're looking for a thick, specialty loaf this is good. Solid B rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 3,370) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States