Amish White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I have made this for the last three Sundays, and find this to be very tasty and easy! The first time I did not have bread flour, and it was good. The second and third times I added some wheat gluten to AP flour and it was great. A tip for rising, heat a cup or two of water for two minutes on the microwave and leave the cup and water there with the bread dough to rise - it works perfectly. I also use my stand mixer with the dough hook, and this mixes up in minutes. Very quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dewitt, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
This bread tastes so good! Better than store bought for sure. I even used some whole wheat flour to give it more fibre and it is just simply great! Thank you for a wonderful bread recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
A very simple but satisfying recipe, I bake a lot of bread and this recipe is now my staple for white bread. If your dough is taking a long time to rise, here is a tip that will cut the time approximately by half: before you begin mixing your dough, turn your oven on the lowest setting possible, let it preheat for five minutes and turn it off. Put some water on to boil, I use a teapot. Before you put the dough in to rise for the first time, pour about an inch of boiling water in a pie plate and place on the oven rack below your bowl of dough. You will not need to cover your bowl with a damp towel if you use this method. Make sure that you turn your oven off after a few minutes of preheating and use an oven safe bowl. This method not only cut the rising time for this recipe, but I got a lighter, less-dense loaf than some people on here have described.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Amazing! I've just started making bread. After 3 attempts equaling 6 failed loaves (different recipe) I was about to give up when I ran across THIS recipe and decided to give bread making 1 last try. All through making it, I was sure it would be another dense flopped attempt fit for the trash can. NOPE! Pure light yummy goodness far better than any store bought or homemade bread I've EVER had!! My 3 kids and I stood at the counter with the loaf and the butter dish consuming far more than I feel comfortable with admitting to. I, nor my family, have any objections to me just sticking to this recipe from here on out :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
The taste was good. But too "heavy" for me and my family. It crumbled when I cut it so it made for messy sandwiches. Might have been good for french toast but again crumbly. It did make good toast but my family doesn't eat toast every day. So I used it for bread crumbs and that works out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Good bread. It's a bit dense and sweet. Next time I'll try less sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I made this bread for the second time this morning. The first time I made it, it didn't turn out the way I had hoped, but it was my fault! First, I decreased the sugar - only used 1/3 cup; second, I used my stand mixer with the bread hook but obviously didn't knead the bread as long as I should have because I could taste the yeast. This time I used the 2/3 cup sugar called for and kneaded the dough in the stand mixer until the dough was crawling up the bread hook. When I took it out of the bowl, I continued to knead it by hand for a few minutes more, ensuring all the ingredients were well mixed. The end result was two perfect loaves, that baked up perfectly in 30 minutes. I couldn't resist the smell of the fresh baked bread and cut a couple of slices right away! Absolutely amazing and what surprised me, is the sugar was not overpowering in the finished loaf! Having nailed this recipe, I am not sure I'll ever use my bread machine again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I only make one loaf at a time so I began by cutting the amounts of ingredients in half. This recipe came out wonderful. It's a fairly standard bread recipe so no extraordinary steps need to be taken to come out with excellent results. I will definitely be making this bread again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Yes, this bread is sweet, but it has a key word in the recipe: AMISH. Amish make the bread sweeter than regular white bread, and the sugar also lends a hand to the proofing of the yeast. It reacts faster and becomes much thicker than regular bread recipes because the yeast feeds off of it. I highly recommend this bread as a sweetbread, but if you're wanting to make it not so sweet, just halve the sugar in the beginning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Quick and easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 3,428) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States