Amish White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: May 23, 2014
I use this recipe to make all my bread. If you want it less dense and less sweet, just let it rise more. The yeast will eat more of the sugar and produce more gas for a lighter loaf. I think the people complaining about it being too sweet or too dense have not proofed their yeast properly or have old yeast. The first time I made this bread I went to the store while it raised the first time and forgot it for over three hours. It was ginormous! It still came out OK, but slightly dense because the yeast had trouble rising the second time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by InkBuddy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsLewald
Reviewed: May 23, 2014
Made this bread yesterday and it was PERFECT, I wish i could eat it but sadly i can't because I'm having problem with gluten stuff so i can't have wheat or anything that contains gluten anymore. My Hubby and my son loves the bread. Thank you for the recipe, I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
Yum yum yum!! I have tried so many bread recipes and this one is the best so far. I am definitely making this bread every week. My kids loved it!! I added all the sugar but next time I will add less. We love hawaiian bread and this bread tastes just like it!! I let it rise for an hour instead of 30 minutes the second time and i placed a pan in the bottom of the oven before I turned it on. Once it was preheated I added 5 ice cubes, the steam helps you get a brown crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Made as is. Absolutely a stable in my house from now on. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
I have made this four times so far and each time my friends and family have gobbled up both loaves in one to two day! It is so simple and truly delicious! Easy bread recipe for beginners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
I have been baking bread for many years. This is the best white bread ever. Adjust the sugar according to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
I just don't like breads that contain too much sugar. It's too sweet to me. I'll stick with regular white breads. I believe adding excessive sugar doesn't make things delicious, rather opposite. This recipe is one of the proof of my belief.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
Definitely a little sweet for regular bread but texture was great & super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SMFLRN

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
Loved it! I now make this weekly for my family. I also made some flour out of oatmeal and substituted that for 1 1/2 cups of the flour. It was beautiful! This recipe is easy and makes beautiful yummy tasting bread. The only thing I do different is I brush the top with melted butter when it's done cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Nellis Afb, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Ahhhhmazing and very simple to make. This recipe is easy to modify to varying tastes. I tried it several ways after making the recipe as is, and each time my family loved it. Some of the changes I tried: halved the recipe, decreased sugar, increased salt, subbed a cup of white whole wheat flour, and baked italian style (not in a loaf pan). Each different mod still made a delicious loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seymour, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 3,487) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States