Amish White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Fluffy awesomeness! I added salt and oregano on top right before baking. Great for olive oil dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Wonderful! Made the house smell amazing! I will never buy bread again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jo
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Very easy, next time I am going to try reducing the sugar. Instead of white sugar I used turbinado sugar and olive oil instead of veggie oil. Turned out great!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Oh sooo good and sooo easy! Once dough is finished rising, roll it out flat and add butter, raisins, and some brown sugar and cinnamon! Check middle for doneness though. Looooveee It!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
I have done this exactly as the recipe says multiple times! It always turns out great! One time, I left it to rise and got called into work. 7 hours later, it was extremely puffed up, but still cooked beautifully! I recently added 1/4 cup of ground flax seed and switched half the bread flour for whole wheat flour! I changed the sugar to about two tablespoons of honey (a little more because I totally overflowed the spoon), substituted sweetened applesauce for the oil and just added flour until the consistency was right. It made an amazing whole-wheat bread with an extra touch of sweetness! Perfect for my parents, who are both on a low-sugar, no-oil diet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Katie Q
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
I used a larger bread pan and baked for 45 minutes on the same temp in recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Great recipe.I make it all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
The bread was absolutely horrible. Really bad. I couldn't even eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
I'm not one for writing reviews but I have been making bread for years. And apparently I've been making the wrong kind. This is an amazing recipe. I have tried them all but this one was a keeper. I proofed my yeast first as I usually do. I then rolled the dough and rolled it up as if I were making cinnamon bread. I actually made cinnamon bread out of one of the loaves. It didn't last until the next day. Try this one you won't be dissapointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Just tried this and it turned out wonderfully. I was not looking for a sweet bread, so I followed the suggestion to only use two TBSP of sugar and it turned out fine. It was nice and soft and fluffy with just a touch of chewiness. I used all purpose flour as well as I had no bread flour on hand. With these few ingredients it's all about the quality of the raw ingredients and technique. I use an instant read thermometer to get the water temperature correct-too warm and you will kill the yeast. Hold back a cup or so of the flour and add it bit by bit until it is the correct texture, and let it rise fully. My only complaint is actually with the video that shows you how to make this bread. "Form a loaf "does not mean to simply chop the dough in two and stuff it in the bread pan. You need to roll it out into a large rectangle and fold it in thirds (like a letter) then flatten a bit more and roll it up, pinching the seam along the bottom shut and tucking and pinching the ends under. Can't wait to make this again, I would use the full amount of sugar to make a sweet loaf or for making cinnamon rolls, cutting it back to two TBSP for a loaf to use for sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 3,416) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States