Amish White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
i have used a recipe like this for years.. evertime i try to cut the sugar, my family throws a fit... I have found that to cut down on how dense it can be, i add a little extra yeast and allow it to rise a little longer. This works perfectly.... It make excelent morning toast...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Desiree Hasley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
I haven't made bread in yrs, so I was a little nervous. My first batch was good, had a few mistakes. Second batch and there after, came out great. To make the bread healthier, I used raw honey instead of sugar and coconut oil instead of vegetable oil. It turned out phenomenal. I have a kitchen aid mixer, so the dough hook attachment was wonderful since I injured a hand.Put dough hook on speed 2 and never go over this speed. And remember yeast will get kind of foamy. You will love this bread. If it doesn't come out right...don't give up...keep at it. You will be rewarded!!! It's a dense bread and with the honey it's not as sweet, but oh so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Andrey Blystone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Van Wert, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Other than reducing sugar to 1/3c. I changed nothing else. This is the best recipe out there!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
SUPER easy, SUPER yummy, NO FAIL recipe!!! Perfect rolls... and, with a family full of people that can't have ANY dairy, this is AWESOME!!!!!! Works with wheat flour, white flour, or a combo of the two... I usually do 1/2 wheat and 1/2 white. (Although, depending on the humidity of the day, you may need to adjust the flour amounts. I have used from 4-7 cups flour depending.) THANK YOU!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Easy & yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
Family favorite. I love how easy it is to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WannaBThicknThin
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
I just made this bread a few days ago, and I love it. I followed the recipe exactly, and was thrilled to see that I had accomplished this challenge. I've included a picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
Excellent! My son wants nothing but this bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
made it several times.nice homemade bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
I have made this several times and love it. It is dense enough to slice nicely and makes excellent toast. I have topped it before baking with rosemary or sunflower seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 3,487) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States