Amish White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
I'm not one for writing reviews but I have been making bread for years. And apparently I've been making the wrong kind. This is an amazing recipe. I have tried them all but this one was a keeper. I proofed my yeast first as I usually do. I then rolled the dough and rolled it up as if I were making cinnamon bread. I actually made cinnamon bread out of one of the loaves. It didn't last until the next day. Try this one you won't be dissapointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Just tried this and it turned out wonderfully. I was not looking for a sweet bread, so I followed the suggestion to only use two TBSP of sugar and it turned out fine. It was nice and soft and fluffy with just a touch of chewiness. I used all purpose flour as well as I had no bread flour on hand. With these few ingredients it's all about the quality of the raw ingredients and technique. I use an instant read thermometer to get the water temperature correct-too warm and you will kill the yeast. Hold back a cup or so of the flour and add it bit by bit until it is the correct texture, and let it rise fully. My only complaint is actually with the video that shows you how to make this bread. "Form a loaf "does not mean to simply chop the dough in two and stuff it in the bread pan. You need to roll it out into a large rectangle and fold it in thirds (like a letter) then flatten a bit more and roll it up, pinching the seam along the bottom shut and tucking and pinching the ends under. Can't wait to make this again, I would use the full amount of sugar to make a sweet loaf or for making cinnamon rolls, cutting it back to two TBSP for a loaf to use for sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
My very first time making bread was an astonishing success! Because I was afraid of wasting ingredients - in case I messed this up - I scaled the recipe down to make only one loaf, which I would suggest if it's your first time, too. (**Notes for first timers: My first rise took quite a while because my house was so cold. It ended up taking half the day to rise until I finally decided to put it near something warm. That did the trick! So don't give up if yours doesn't rise - consider moving it somewhere warmer. Also, kneading the dough after that first rise, man, I was convinced I was going to get a brick! I kneaded it for a while, trying to make it "soft" because when I took it out of the bowl and kneaded it "a bit," it was a very heavy, small and non-stretchy ball of dough! I let it rise the second time for more than 30 minutes near a warm spot again, praying it would rise that 1" AND IT DID! And it was so delicious! So don't give up in case you have problems like me!**) After reading suggestions to cut the sugar down for a more "traditional" white bread taste, I found it was still a tad sweeter than normal white bread, BUT I am way more excited to try it with the full sugar amount since now I know it'll probably taste exactly like Hawaiian bread!!! Since my oven runs hot, I only had to bake it 25 minutes. Excellent recipe, will not stray from it in case my bread making mojo gets squashed by another recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
Absolutely perfect first time out, and I even halved the recipe in case I screwed up. Bread rose perfectly, came out with a perfect soft/chewy texture. This is my new sandwich bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Very good and not too difficult.. Great flavor and is usually gone with one meal...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blackshear, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
This is great bread! I have made bread before and it never came out right. I was getting discouraged. Then I found this recipe. I took another reviewers advice and only used 1/4 c of sugar which I think was enough. I also didnt use the full 6 c of flour, maybe more like 5 c. I love this with butter and strawberry jam :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
The only rating I can give at this point is a 4 stars, since it's rising now. It is easy to make the dough. I will re-rate once I've eaten it. Can anyone advise whether you've made this recipe and frozen it prior to baking? And whether or not you let it rise prior to freezing? Many doughs can be shaped, frozen then thawed and allowed to rise and then bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
I have found that I have to reduce the amount of sugar in the recipe by 1/3 for the best result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mongolia11

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wellsboro, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
This Amish Bread recipe was easy to make and tasted delicious! I halfed the recipe and only made one loaf. I will definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toppenish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I have made this for the last three Sundays, and find this to be very tasty and easy! The first time I did not have bread flour, and it was good. The second and third times I added some wheat gluten to AP flour and it was great. A tip for rising, heat a cup or two of water for two minutes on the microwave and leave the cup and water there with the bread dough to rise - it works perfectly. I also use my stand mixer with the dough hook, and this mixes up in minutes. Very quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dewitt, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 3,418) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States