Amish White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2015
I've made this recipe several times and it comes out perfect every time (considering I use good yeast). The only modification I've made is swapping out half of the white flour with wheat flour. It's nice and crusty on the outside and soft on the inside-not too dense. Best bread I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jas.o
Reviewed: May 19, 2015
Perfect! !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shlgo
Reviewed: May 18, 2015
So, so soft! I used only 4 tablespoons of sugar and it's not sweet at all. I used Saf-instant yeast. Preheated oven to 200 deg then turned off then placed dough in to rise. Took 25 mins. I baked it at 375 by mistake but it came out okay. Bake time was 20 mins. First time making any type of bread and it came out. Definitely going make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2015
This bread was fantastic and relatively easy to make. I made two loaves and it was completely gone in two days. My daughter ate it like it was cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cary Morton

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Coos Bay, Oregon, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2015
I've been using this recipe for over a year now. Everyone I've ever served it to loves it! I make several variations of it, i add 2 cups of cheese to it to make a cheesy white bread, i've also made a cinnamon sugar mix with brown sugar and cinnamon to make cinnamon buns(delicious)! If i'm making the standard white bread version or cheese bread, i only use 1/3 of a cup of sugar, otherwise i think it's a little on the sweet side. Overall this recipe is fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patrick Roberts

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2015
I think this is the best bread recipe I have ever had! Super soft moist, and fluffy. Just the perfect amount of sweetness! Super quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2015
This made two beautiful loaves. Very dense, though. Makes great toast but not light enough for a sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CHEFKATY2
Reviewed: May 12, 2015
this is a great, simple recipe! the bread turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melisa Henley Hansen
Reviewed: May 10, 2015
Great simple recipe, I let it rise a bit longer to ensure bread was not to dense. Followed the recipe this time but will for sure cut the sugar down to 1/4 cup as many suggested! This will be one to keep and make weekly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by taihw
Reviewed: May 8, 2015
I've made this recipe and some personal variations of it multiple times, and it's always turned out great. It's dense but soft, good for breakfast or snack because of the extra sweetness, but not quite as well suited for sandwiches or dinner breads. It does take quite a bit of kneading to get it super soft, but for me it's worth it. Now I make it with honey instead of white sugar -- I replace the sugar with 1/2 cup of honey and reduce the water by 1/8th of a cup, but it works great either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 3,659) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States