Amish Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
If you're looking for an old fashioned "tea cake", I think this will do the trick. They are not very sweet, but they are beautifully soft. I kept them simple, just sprinkled some sugar on top of each cookie before baking. It gives a little sparkle. I like them to bake the full ten minutes. I used parchment paper on the cookie sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
I know the recipe calls for a lot of oil, but it makes a cake like cookie that you can ice with frosting. If you are looking for a sugar COOKIE then this isn't what you are looking for probably! Our local Amish store makes these and they are so, so good. Every time I make these, they are a hit. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MichaeleM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elberfeld, Indiana, USA
Living In: Lyons, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
these were good! they defiantly needed sugar and cinnamon on them tho they cooked at exactly 10 minutes and were really good thanx 4 posting!:D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elanore1D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
These are so good. After they are cool, I make a little glaze of confectioners sugar and milk, spoon it on the cookies and then add red and green sprinkles to look more festive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
Awesome cookies, i was skeptical when making it, the batter is super oily, but they plump a lot, and taste great, i cut the recipe in half also. Next time i might add some more sugar, perhaps on top as well. Easy and taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
These are the best I have every had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
This is the best and easy supper moist cookies I have ever had. I made them for my kids and baseball team and they loved them. I also cut the oil to 1 cup and I used sour cream instead of butter milk and they turned out delicious. I would make this cookies over and over... Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cecilia Yee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
i made these and they were pretty yummy light and fluffy cookies. they are not super sweet. so i added a little sugar to the tops of them kids and husband liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scooper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Creston, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
My 9 year old daughter made these and they turned out great. I halved the recipe because I didn't need that many cookies! Besides that the only change we made was to sprinkle cinnamon sugar over the cookies before we baked them. A powdered sugar glaze might be good over them as well once cooled....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Warsaw, Indiana, USA
Living In: Etna Green, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
My husband always wants me to make sugar cake cookies, so i looked it up and made these. They are really good! I gave it a 4 start because he said i had to put a lot of sprinkle sugar on top because they werent sweet enough. So half way through i added more sugar to the mix, they flatend out a little more but are SOOOOOOO yummy now! perfect taste and still fluffy soft sugar cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States