Amish Sourdough Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2000
Great recipe. Very simple, tasted great! I wanted another way to use my sweet sourdough starter and now I have one. Everyone in the family (hubby and kids) loved them. There were none left! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
My family all loved these pancakes. They have a slightly sweet and sour flavor, but not overpowering. They melt in your mouth, and are slightly cake-like in texture. I used a cup of my friendship bread starter on day 10. I also used Bisquick. I will make these AGAIN, for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
Everyone ate these up really well. So I gave it 5 stars. Easy to make also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvacook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I added cinnamon to the batter. What a great way to use up friendship bread batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LORI Q

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baker, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
I thought these were great. Yes, they tasted a bit like sourdough, and they were light enough it was difficult to flip them, but we all loved the lightness and the sourdough flavor. In fact, my 5 kids thought they tasted so good they didn't want syrup or jam on their pancakes. This is a wonderful bonus...much less sticky!! Now I'm going to go look for a homemade buttermilk mix recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STORMIMAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fountain Inn, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I have been a sourdough for years. I've never considered mixing starter with pre-made pancake mix. It was a wonderful marriage. I used Krustez. I will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2000
i HAVE BEEN MAKING SOURDOUGH PANCAKES FOR YEARS AND WAS GLAD TO SEE THIS ONE POSTED TO TRY SOMEONE ELSES RECIPE. I USED 'BISQUICK' FOR THE BUTTERMILK PANCAKE MIX AND EVERYTHING TURNED OUT DELICIOUS. THANKS FOR ANOTHER WAY TO USE MY STARTER. THEY ALSO SMELLED WONDERFUL! JANET IN CA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
Enjoyed this very much. Has a great flavor. For some added flavor I added diced apples and cinnamon. Also used Bisquick instead of buttermilk mix because that is what I had. I think any pancake mix would work great. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
Oops, I didn't use the amish friendship bread starter. I used sourdough starter II. That could be the reason for lack of flavor. These were ok. I like buttermilk pancakes better. My 2 1/2 year old son gobbled them up! The texture was kind of gummy inside. They did rise and seemed kinda blah tasting, even with butter and syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I love baking!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Lake Beach, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
These were great! We added a dash of cinnamon to the batter. Little thin, maybe next time less water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

Chef John's Buckwheat Pancakes

A great pancake with 100% buckwheat flour!

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States