Amish Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2015
Love this slaw!!!! Thanks for posting ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2015
Excellent! I modified this recipe by cutting the sugar and adding apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2015
Very good cole slaw--will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne Howell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winterset, Iowa, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2015
I grew up in Eastern Pennsylvania, not far from Amish country and this tastes very much like what they called "pickled cabbage" in the high school lunch room. I don't remember it having oil added but it definitely had the sweet and sour to it, plus the celery seeds. I didn't boil the sugar mixture down and let it cool, I just tossed everything into the bowl, over the 1 package tri color shredded cabbage mix and gave it a good toss. Something that you can keep adding shredded cabbage to it as long as it keeps. I can see where the Amish would devised this recipe: no electricity, no refrigeration. But they do have cold cellars and ice boxes! ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2015
This is a fun recipe. Nice change from trad'l slaw. I tweaked a little...1/2 c sugar, 3/4 c vinegar, used ACV as well as white (50/50) and 1/2 c. oil. Added 1/2 of a medium sized red onion and 3/4 of a green pepper. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2015
Very tasty! Followed the tip from another reviewer and used half Apple cider vinegar/half white and it turned out great. Used bagged preshredded cole slaw and added chopped onion and dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Squamish, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2015
This recipe is fantastic. Prefer this to a mayo slaw....marinade was perfect. I added purple cabbage just to add more color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2015
I absolutely love this slaw. I use the pre-shredded cabbage mix and omit the onion (because my husband doesn't like them). I was a little nervous at the amount of liquid but not to worry! It just keeps marinating what's left over and over again! It's a huge hit everywhere I've taken it. So nice to not worry about keeping it cold at outside gatherings (although I like it better cold). Favorite slaw recipe of all time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2015
Did not like it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2015
I had to choose a rating, but, truthfully, I haven't tried this recipe yet but would like to protest the fact that, as in many cases, the photo of this dish does not match the recipe. Obviously, carrots and possibly other ingredients were added to the dish in the photo. Just saying...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 268) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States