Amish Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Was looking for a non-mayo coleslaw to use on pulled pork sandwiches. Very good - does last a while in the fridge. Makes a ton - last night, I used half a head of cabbage - had already made the sauce, so used all of it. Fed 8 adults as a side/sandwich topper. Got lots of compliments on this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
This my go to recipe for coleslaw. We are not big fans of the mayonnaise based version and this is refreshing alternative. I scaled back on the sugar (more like 3/4 cup) and added a little extra mustard. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUVSANTERIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westerly, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Love it!!! Couldn't stop eating it, sooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Made this twice and love it. The onions give such a great flavor. Makes a lot - great for a potluck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
I'd never met a cole slaw I liked before. This is wonderful, and I LOVE the absence of mayo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
I was searching for a vinegar based slaw because it seems like all anyone ever makes is mayo based. I chose this because of the rating and I leave near a Mennonite community in middle Tennessee. The only thing I added to this recipe were carrots. Other than that, pretty good recipe. I may add a wee bit more vinegar for tang next round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beckythebarber

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I made this slaw last night and served it this evening at a party. Everyone loved it. I used apple cider vinager and Splenda instead of sugar and it tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Delicious if you like a sweet, tangy slaw. It would still be good if you reduce the sugar by 30-50%.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Quick and easy! "I'm kinda surprised at how good this is" says my husband, who doubts all the delicious things I make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I don't like mayo based coleslaws, so this is a great alternative. I reduced the sugar to make it a bit more savory and less sugary. I also add shredded carrot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 250) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States