Amish Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
This is absolutely FABULOUS!! Was excited for a slaw without mayo yet had taste. This fit the bill perfectly. Didn't change a thing. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Wycoff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Monroe, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
This is the best receipe. I have made this at least 5 times this summer and the same people keep asking me to bring it. I use a little less sugar as we like it tart. Sometimes I use extra veges to use them up. Can't miss with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schofield, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
This slaw recipe is delicious! In my mind 1 medium head of cabbage would equal 2 16 oz. bags of the preshredded slaw mix, so that is what I used. I followed the recipe (maybe used a touch less sugar) and did add finely chopped red onion. It did not bleed as others mentioned. It's the perfect slaw recipe for a picnic. Yes, there was excess dressing in the bottom of the bowl, but cabbage does give off some liquid once it is dressed. It happens with mayo based slaws too. I just mixed it up well and used a slotted spoon to put it in my serving bowl. I made this the day before serving and it was still nice and crunchy. I will make this again. EDIT 7/26/12 - I forgot to mention that I ended up using apple cider vinegar after debating with myself whether to use it or white vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janmarie1964

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: Apalachin, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Real simple, real good! Just the perfect mix of sweet and tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
We love this recipe! I'm from Pittsburgh and this is exactly like Primanti's! We tried it on grilled hot dogs and it is now our favorite topping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eighty Four, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
I made this on a Friday, to serve at a Sunday night BBQ. I'm so glad that it was something that I could prepare ahead of time, and get out of the way so I could concentrate on the rest of the meal. Everyone really enjoyed this slaw. Our guests asked for the recipe, and it made quite a bit (there were 8 of us, and I had enough left over for another meal for my family of 4 AND to send out guests home with some as well). I did add some shredded carrots, for color. Nice recipe. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
Yummy! Didn't have celery seed or white vinegar so I used caraway seeds and cider vinegar that I already had in the kitchen. I also added carrots to the Slaw. Easy recipe! Used my Ninja food processor to help with the "shredding" and that sped the process up nicely
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
Not my favorite cole slaw recipe. Probably won't make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delafield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
This is an excellent recipe. My family loved it. I would highly recommend this one.....the only thing I did differently was to use a red onion......delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Homewood, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
I only mixed in 3/4 C of sugar and was still a little too much. next time ill try 1/2
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oxford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States