Amish Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 28, 2013
My husband tried and loved this recipe. I made it a few times since finding this slaw and will make it again..again..and again. This will become a family favourite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
Excellent slaw - I made a few changes due to personal preference. I used 1/3 cup sugar instead of a whole cup and the slaw was plenty sweet and savory. A whole cup would have been entirely too much. Also, the recipe called for a prepared mustard - I chose Inglehoffer stone ground mustard and used 1 1/2 tablespoons as opposed to 1 tsp. This is now my "go to" slaw recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
As a general rule, I hate coleslaw. It's just not my thing. However, I was serving pulled pork and it seemed wrong not to offer coleslaw along side it. I hemmed and hawed through all the coleslaw recipes, settled on this one, and followed it exactly. IT'S AMAZING. Best. Coleslaw. Ever. PERFECT combo of sweet and sour. Best part, no mayo. Thanks for making me a coleslaw fan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
This was wonderful! So good, and I LOVE mayo based anything so for me to switch over to a non-mayo slaw was a big deal. I tried it after I mixed it all because it smelled so good and I ate more than my share! I mixed equal parts of vinegar and sugar, both a little less than a half cup and followed the rest of the recipe to a T. It is a bit on the vinegary side, but that is how I like it, and if you want it sweeter you can just up the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
After years of trying other mayo based slaw recipes I tried the Amish Slaw recipe. I have made it twice, the second time cutting the sugar in half. I did not taste any substantial change but feel much better with the healthy recipe adjustment. LOVE this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doniece Nelson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
Love the no mayo recipe and the mustard brings a little extra zip to it! I did cut the sugar and oil a bit and it was just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
This was awesome!! We made our own Primanti Brothers sandwiches and it was dead one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
My Mother in Law has been making this recipe for years! I absolutely love it! I've now started making this for big dinners and pot lucks and everyone raves about it and asks for the recipe! An extremely affordable dish that feeds a large crowd - you need to save this recipe to your Recipe Box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
I love this slaw! I make up a big batch and keep it in the fridge. It's fast and easy to make, but disappears quickly. My husband, kids, and I all pull it out as an add on to whatever meal we're eating or as just a snack. I must say that as I don't like onions I leave those out. Definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I used 1/2 cup sugar, 1/2 cup vinegar and 2 TBL oil, plus salt and pepper. Just whisked them together and poured over a pre-shredded cabbage mix. Very good, it has a sweet tangy flavor. We love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I love baking!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Lake Beach, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 268) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States