Amish Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Tart and slightly sweet. This is a great slaw recipe. I have made it several times. There are several people in my church group with allergies that won't allow them to have mayonnaise based slaw so this is the one I make. I add a grated carrot for color and serve with a slotted spoon since there is a lot of liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
Even my husband will eat this and he hates cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Absolutely YUMMY!!!! My kids even went back for seconds!! Reminded me of a slaw that my grandmother made when I was a kid. So glad I found this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
The best coleslaw ever!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mundelein, Illinois, USA
Living In: Johnsburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Entire family loved it! I mixed it exactly by recipe, dished some up for my husband then added a diced green pepper to the bowl. It is very similar to a slaw served at a great seafood restaurant in San Antonio.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Took it to a party and got rave reviews. Really good. Used three pound cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
i reduced to suger to 1/2 put some carrots very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Very tasty. Sweet n Sour. I had home grown veggies that I added to it, red, yellow and green bell peppers sliced very thin, shredded zuchinni, red onion. I was in a time crunch so I didn't boil the dressing. Just mixed all of the sugar and vinegar until sugar was disolved and, after all the spices were added, wisked vigorously as I drizzled in the oil so it all emulsified. We could have used about 1/2 of the dressing so I'll cut way back next time. Everyone loved it. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ReneePaj
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
I used two packages of preshredded coleslaw mix and left out the onion (personal preference) Scaled down the oil to 1/2 cup. Really nice slaw to serve with BBQ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReneePaj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2013
Excellent. I have made this recipe several times and my family loves it more and more. At the request of my husband, I cut down on the amount of onions in the recipe, but my son said that left out some of the flavor. Go figure. A red onion is definitely recommended, as it's sweet and does add zest. And -- I did follow the advice of another submitter and split the vinegar to 1/2 cup apple cider and 1/2 cup white vinegar -- makes a tremendously positive difference. A great slaw that gets better with age and keeps for days in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mviehoefer

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 268) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States