Amish Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
Way too much vinegar tasting. Cut back on the vinegar by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
A little too sweet. Next time I'll cut back the sugar on the cabbage. It lasts for days without getting strong or soggy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
As written it's a 3, kick it up , Do not use oil, it makes it greasy. I add 1/2 cup grated carrots, leave off mustard and only use 1/2 cup vinegar and 1/2 cup sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
Excellent salad - I used a bag of chopped cabbage/carrots and added onions. Easy, peasy - thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hebron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
This was fantastic! I cut the sugar back to 1/2 cup, used apple cider vinegar, and used celery salt (I didn't have celery seed, so used the salt instead and omitted the regular salt. I also chopped up 6 steips of bacon and added it - gave it a tasty savory component!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
This is very delicious, however I only gave it 4 stars because the amount of dressing is way to much - I only used 1/3 of the dressing and it covered the salad plenty. I also did not use celery seed or the mustard, as it's not available widely overseas. I replaced vegetable oil with olive oil to make it healthier. I added some other vegetables in also for added crunch and colour (carrots, peppers, celery). The dressing really is what made it, at least I have some left over for other salads, or another slaw. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Christina: This is an AWESOME slaw recipe. My wife really doesn't care much for mayonnaise, and once I reviewed this I thought it was worth a try. Everybody just loved it (including her 92-year old father!). This will become a standard in our household, I think. I didn't (and won't) change a single thing. Thanks so much for posting it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AdirondackKid

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saranac Lake, New York, USA
Living In: Methuen, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DaGrinch
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
If there's any 2 side dishes I love to eat, it's cole slaw and potato salad. Well, I found the slaw recipe I'll be making from now on! Made this with a few of the suggestions from other reviews - cut down the vinegar and then used half white and half apple cider plus a couple other changes. Absolutely fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
I made this this evening and it was good after marinating for only a couple of hours. I imagine it will be even better in the morning. A very nice change from my usual creamy dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
I am losing it and thought I rated this last year : ) Have made this at least 40 times since then! This is the non-mayo slaw on our rotation and so delicious with BBQ or just plain old saltines. It is absolutely delicious and stays well in the frig, too. I use sweet onions (Videlias when in season)as well as picking out the red cabbage when using the pre-mix slaw packages to prevent it from turning purple. Red onions have the same affect so definitely use white or yellow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUCKYLEE222

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 268) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States