Amish Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
I forgot to add the vegetable oil...and it was fabulous! Also, I used spicy brown mustard and threw in some grated carrot for color. Very affordable to make and soooo refreshing in the hot summer! Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
I used bagged shredded cabbage and carrots, and I put in 1 and 1/2 bags, because it was too wet. Yummy sweet and sour slaw!! Rave reviews!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Gorgeous slaw and very versatile when it lasts so long - up to 2 wks in fridge. I used half cup of sugar and also apple cider vinegar instead of the ordinary vinegar. I also added thin slivers of red and yellow peppers and grated raw carrot - it made the most beautiful colourful dish. I sprinkled the top with a few toasted almondsaned walnuts although totally optional. Will def make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
This is a great change from the traditional cole slaw made with mayonaise and it keeps for a long time in the fridge. I will try cutting back a bit on the oil next time as the flavor was very oily to me for the first couple of days but seemed to blend better by the end of day 2 or day 3. Make this one at least a day ahead of time and I think you will be happy with it. Went great with BBQ ribs & baked beans as part of a meal, as well as being a good sandwich topper for lunch the next time or just to eat a bowl by itself. Overall a great recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Soldotna, Alaska, USA
Living In: Kenai, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Best slaw ever! Still crunchy and even more delicious 2 days later. Great on burgers as a condiment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilikejulia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
Way too much vinegar tasting. Cut back on the vinegar by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
A little too sweet. Next time I'll cut back the sugar on the cabbage. It lasts for days without getting strong or soggy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
As written it's a 3, kick it up , Do not use oil, it makes it greasy. I add 1/2 cup grated carrots, leave off mustard and only use 1/2 cup vinegar and 1/2 cup sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
Excellent salad - I used a bag of chopped cabbage/carrots and added onions. Easy, peasy - thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hebron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
This was fantastic! I cut the sugar back to 1/2 cup, used apple cider vinegar, and used celery salt (I didn't have celery seed, so used the salt instead and omitted the regular salt. I also chopped up 6 steips of bacon and added it - gave it a tasty savory component!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 263) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States