Amish Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Tastes just like the salad my mother made when I was a child. I used to love eating it while it was still warm. She used evaporated milk and added strained pickle relish, which I think I'll do next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beadanurse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2013
Superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meemps

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
I made this a few years ago for my mother's birthday and it has become my signature dish. Anytime there is a family gathering, my family requests this potato salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Darthur
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
I've tried many different recipes, this is by far the best I've made! It's a bit sweet (which I like) and the dressing is very creamy. Tastes like the Amish Potato Salad you buy at the store/deli, but without all the chemical ingredients & preservatives. I'm not a mayonnaise fan (yes, I'm one of those "Miracle Whip people"), but I used 1/2 Hellman's/Best Foods and 1/2 Miracle Whip which probably added to the sweetness. I might try just a serving with a bit of pickle relish (sweet or dill?), but I don't think I can improve on this recipe. I followed it exactly and it's perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darthur

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nixa, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
The flavor is excellent, but like some other reviewers, the salad dressing was too runny and way too abundant given the salad ingredients. I'm disappointed with the result after the time, ingredients, and expectations that went into it. I'm hoping that a day later, more of the dressing will have absorbed into the salad ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitefish Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mount Vernon, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
Love this recipe! Been making it for years. I shred my carrots instead of chopping them. A fav in my house!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissyBunny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
This is awesome! I cut down the sugar to 1/2 cup and would use even less next time. The recipe is labor intensive, but potato salad, to me, is a special get-together food that I only eat occasionally. Thus it is worth the work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nomnom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
This was awesome. Doubled the recipe and it didn't last a day in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
A bit sweet for my taste but other than that, truly delicious! Everyone I had made this salad for has loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Always a big hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sotzingr1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tipp City, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Southern Potato Salad

See how to make a Southern-style potato salad that you serve warm.

The Best Potato Salad

This creamy potato salad tastes delicious chilled.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States