Amish Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
I did make some changes to this recipe, based on what I thought needed to be done. For the meat mixture, I used 1/2 cup ketchup, 1/8 cup brown sugar, 1-1/2 cups crackers, added garlic powder and worcestershire. Made only 1/2 the amount of glaze. Baked the loaf for 15 min. longer than recommended. This was absolutely delicious, both hot and cold. I would make it again in a heartbeat, but only with my modifications. Thanks, Duano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2003
Sorry, but about the only thing positive I can say about this recipe is that it makes a nice moist meatloaf. This may have been a result of using butter crackers or maybe because I use beef/pork/veal for my meatloaves instead of ground beef. I also use only 1 egg instead of 2. The negative side is this recipe is way too sweet!!! All that sugar! I will use the cracker idea again, but that's it. I'll go back to my brown gravy instead. This tasted too much like a sweet sloppy joe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JACKIE2830

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Cheektowaga, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
I made this as written, warning Husband that other reviewers had found it too sweet. As someone who douses his breakfast bacon and sausage with maple syrup, he said he didn't mind. Of course, it turned out that it was indeed a touch too sweet for him (I personally couldn't eat more than half a mouthful). I'm gonna scrape the sauce topping off, and make it into sandwiches tomorrow. Other than the sweetness issue, this is a good recipe - the loaf held together nicely, and had a good general flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
HANDS DOWN THE BEST MEATLOAF ... EVER. So tasty and not at all too sweet. I don't know what people are talking about with the "too sweet" comments; they must want a hamburger in the shape of a loaf or something. I found it to be a nice balance of sweet and savory and just very tasty. I've tried many a meatloaf in my quest for the perfect meatloaf. It wasn't until this recipe that I knew I'd found the recipe our future children will call "mom's meatloaf" because it's the one I'll probably always use. Anyone who knows Amish food (I'm from Ohio) knows it's rich and old-fashioned comfort food. The bacon in this recipe really adds a lot ... not so much a bacon-y taste but just that "something extra" you might not right away identify as bacon. I used only a pound and a half of ground meat which was a mistake; it fell apart easily. You really need two full pounds of meat here. I may also use just one egg next time if the full two pounds makes it too loose. This is just wonderful and it's great on sandwiches as leftovers too! Such a tasty meatloaf. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
Made this tonight for hubby as his grandmother passed away and I wanted to make him some comfort food. I am so glad that I read the reviews prior to making. I sauteed the onions in butter and cut the glaze in half. These were both good moves. This recipe does make a sweet meatloaf, so if that isn't your thing, consider yourself warned. This makes a very moist meatloaf and I think I would cut the cracker crumbs down to 2 cups. I added black pepper and garlic powder to the mixture. I would be tempted to add chopped green pepper. The glaze is good and I would consider making the full amount and use it for mashed potatoes. I served this with mashed potatoes and it was very good. This did take an extra 10 minutes to get thoroughly done. This is one of my more favorite meatloaf recipes from this site. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
This is the most incredible meatloaf recipe EVER! I have made it so many times that I have lost count. My family LOVES it. It always turns out great and is not a pile of mush like other viewers have written. I think the quality of ground beef you use likely has something to do with whether or not it falls apart, so make sure you are using a high quality of beef. I have had great success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
I have made this numerous times and it is wonderful every time. Only change I make is to omitt the baccon. Made this recently in the crock pot as it has been over 100 degrees here the last week and we have been craving meatloaf. Cooked it on low for 6 1/2 hours with 1/2 sauce on top. Added rest of sauce and turned on high for an additional 30 min. Moist and WONDERFUL. If there were 10 stars I would give it every one!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Hazelwood, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
I have never ever liked meatloaf until I made this one. I used townhouse crackers ( one sleeve and 6 additional crackers), I halved the brown sugar in the meat mixture and used precooked bacon but left everything else the same. Everyone raved over it! It was so moist and flavorful I was shocked. I cooked mine for almost 2 hours ( free formed into a loaf in a roasting pan) and drained the grease before addding the glaze. I cannot wait to have a sandwich later with this! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
This is a winner in my household. You know its good when my husband likes it better then his own mothers! I ommitted the bacon(just didnt have any, went light on the brown sugar, and put two slices of bread on the bottom of the loaf pan to suck up some of the grease - worked well. I think it helped with keeping the meatloaf together. Will make again maybe when his mother visits :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2003
Yum!! The sweeteness was a nice change. It was easy to prepare with normal ingredients on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 472) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Glazed Meatloaf II

The yummy glaze makes this meatloaf moist and delicious.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States